Is the grass really greener....?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Wimbledon
January 7th 2011
Published: January 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After a big day of travelling yesterday, we decided to stay local today. We simply went shopping at the closest shopping centre which provided two things. It was a little of our old stomping ground so gave Jas and I a chance to reminisce and also gave the girls a chance to stretch their legs and have a play. We wanted to make sure they had a normal day today with a normal mid day sleep. It was actually a very normal day and did give us a chance to just relax and unwind after a very full-on few weeks.

Being in London doesn’t scare me! I feel so at home here and the familiarity of things is comforting. Seeing Boots, Marks and Spencer and H&M makes me feel at home. I don’t have a problem negotiating the tube or the bus network; in fact I relish the task. Whilst sitting on the tube last night my mind started wandering to what my life was like before kids and it uncovered a lot of mixed emotions. When we lived here, Jas and I had a very great lifestyle and absolutely no responsibilities in the world. Oh, we thought we had the weight of the world on our shoulders but in hindsight, we were so free. Now, coming back with kids makes us realise how easy we had it back then and it makes us wonder what life would be like in London with children. It has me thinking whether I could live back here or not and I think I’ve come to the conclusion that....I could! If I had to! It would be such a different lifestyle and things are different here now, but we could adapt. But my memories have has me wondering...is the grass is always greener...?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb