Day 1 - Rediscovering London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Wimbledon
June 4th 2008
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tower of London BridgeTower of London BridgeTower of London Bridge

Tower of London Bridge
Flew to London Heathrow
Met-up with my Aunt and Cousin
Went on a mini tour on my own
Went to Mosque - Center
Toured London by Night by car


I did pretty good on the flight I slept 6 hours out of the 9 so it helped when we arrived in London at 9:35 am and I was somewhat rested.

It is funny how things in London are just as you remember them, it felt like I was just there a year ago but the last time I was there it was 2002.

Upon arriving, I had to negotiate the tube with my luggage. I must say I made a good choice in picking a traveling backpack with wheels. My Aunt, Ferida met me at the Wimbeldon tube station. It was good to see her and she was definately happy to see me. We decided to see my Cousin Anish who is in a long-term hospital facility. It was good to see him. He wanted to go for lunch so just the two of us went to Michi Masala an India restaurant. I forgot how good the Indian food was in London and I also fogot how
Me and My CousMe and My CousMe and My Cous

My Cousin Anish
expensive London was.

I then went on a bit of a tour of London, walked along the banks of the River Thames. London is definately a walking city and I walked and walked and walked. I saw Tower Bridge, London Bridge, some Naval Ship HMS....

I got back to my Aunt´s place and we headed to Mosque (khana). She didnt want to go to Center Khana but I made her and parking was a bitch. It is worse than New York where you have mutliple criteria.

I got to drive a right hand steering car for a bit. It is difficult because of all of the traffic signals are different.

I met a bunch of people, one was Rahima Virji who I know from Calgary. I also met Shelina´s uncle Riaz. We then went on a drive around London. My aunt´s philosophy navigation is look at the bus stops and see where they are going. It was interesting and we saw
* Earls Court
* South Kensington
* Hammersmith
* Picadilly Circus
* Marble Arch
* Hyde Park
* Trafagler Square
* Putney
* Wimbeldon

We got lost several times but sometimes it is about
Ferida DrivingFerida DrivingFerida Driving

You cant put the seat up any more forward
the journey....
We finally grabbed dinner - the Lebanese have a monopoly on places open late - we had Donner Kabobs.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Tower of LondonTower of London
Tower of London

AKA Tourist Trap


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb