Arctic Adventure - Day 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Westminster
July 20th 2011
Published: July 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

New York to London

I swear it will be the VERY LAST TIME that I get carried away with luggage. I seem to over estimate my hauling capabilities and the availability of skycaps and just get myself in trouble.
From door to gate took exactly 3 hours. Would have taken longer if a nice gentleman at the airport hadn’t taken pity on me and hauled the bags to the check in counter bypassing the lines. I thought he was a skycap but it seems that he was just a Good Samaritan and would not take a tip. The security line itself took almost 45 minutes but once the bags were checked it was a smooth trip. Enjoyed a salad before boarding. It was a full flight and for some reason I was unable to get much sleep or at least not restful sleep.
Deplaned in Iceland, went through security and passport control and back through passport control to catch the next flight to London. Off in the distance I could see plumes of ash or steam and assume it was volcanoes. Along the runway were beautiful wild flowers in lavender and white. From the air I caught a glimpse of green patches along the coast but inland the brown/gray lava fields prevail. Was able to nap all the way to London but was still groggy and out of sorts.
It was at Heathrow where my insanity really manifested itself. The plan was to take the train to Paddington and walk to the hotel, just a block away. I fully admit if it were not for the young Japanese couple that volunteered to be my personal Sherpa I would probable still be at Heathrow. Their kindness at the train, on the train, off the train was so unexpected appreciated. I have a feeling I looked ready to drop.
After negotiating the plane to the train I arrived at Paddington Station knowing there was no way I would be able to haul the bags to the hotel so I took a taxi. No grumbles from the cabbie about the short ride. He actually walked the bags into the lobby and was genuinely surprised at my generous tip.
My room is tiny, even by European standards, but perfectly comfortable. The double bed takes up 85% of the room leaving not much room for the desk and chair, not to mention room to walk around. A single bed would have been perfect. I was truly exhausted so napped for bit before a light meal of smoked salmon, spinach salad and a glass of really good Chilean chardonnay.
Looking forward to a good night’s sleep before venturing out in the morning.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb