'Inappropriate Mondays' London at it's finest


Advertisement
Published: April 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I realise this is pushing it slightly for a travel blog, but I am going to come from the angle that this is what life is like living in London as a foreigner .. Also I am hoping to get a weekly blog from London and wherever my travels happen to take me on a Monday.

From the amazing mind that brought you blogs from around the globe, I am presenting to you “Inappropriate Mondays”. Now this is my worldwide brainchild. A global invention. I came up with it today (Monday 8th April 2013) while my colleague and I were pulling funny faces at each other and sticking out our tongues. I feel that office life brings a certain level of mundane into our lives. I mean hand up who works in an office? If you just raised your hand, I love you. Ok, if you do, have your daily conversations been reduced to what you’re having for lunch? Or how much sleep you caught up on during your weekend? Or if you’re lucky someone else in the office will be hooking up with another person in the office and this will just be scandalous and you will have to analyze and judge and discuss the crap out of this.

That’s what my life has been reduced to. I try and keep myself alert and entertained at work, I do. I spin around on my chair a lot, and throw bits of paper at people. I also play this fun little game where I tap someone on the opposite shoulder to where I am standing. Absolute mayhem – they turn the opposite way and sudden surprise when no-one is there, but BAM here I am on the other side!

Ok, all a bit silly really, I don’t do those things that much, but you have to get your kicks somehow! What I do tend to do though is push my luck a bit. Today while making faces with my workmate across the room, we dubbed it, ‘Inappropriate Mondays.” Now I can definitely be inappropriate most of the time, so it might actually be a genius idea to wrap it all up in a single day. And what better day than a Monday? When everyone is at their unhappiest to be at work, it’s always nice to have something to spice it up a bit. And also have something to look forward to after the weekend.

Inappropriate. That’s actually a really hard word to type over and over. I might replace it with ‘badly chosen’ or ‘inapt’ which appear as suitable synonyms. Ugh what was I thinking, they both sound atrocious. Nothing can replace inappropriate. Anyway, I digress. So our inaptness rubbed off a bit today at work. My workmate who sits next to me is quite possibly the sweetest, softly spoken girl in the world. Today she commented on our supervisors t-shirt, saying that she really liked it. Then, under her breath she muttered, ‘you should take it off.” I did not laugh at this. I guffawed. So when a girl like her can be so easily swayed to veer towards the inappropriate, who else can I coerce? You? Your mum? Cheeky ..

But what really took the cake today was a random ginger stranger who I cycled past on the way home. I was cycling along Colliers Wood, minding my own business when he, a pedestrian, yelled, “That’s one lucky saddle!” GASP. I wish I had thought quickly and retaliated with, “Yeah mate, cause unlike you it’s actually making contact with a woman!” That retort is actually courtesy of one of my friends, I won’t even try and take credit for that. What I did instead was cycle on, flabbergasted but overjoyed that that man had pretty much officiated ‘Inappropriate Mondays,’ for me.

So this is pretty much what life in London is like, more updates next Monday!

If you have any ‘inappropriate Monday’ stories please share them!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb