The only 3 letters that should be important are Y.O.U.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » St. James
July 22nd 2010
Published: July 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Some thoughts before tomorrow

My parents always said that I can 'hold my own' in a conversation with CEOs.

Today, I alone shared a lift and had a short conversation with our CEO from the hq in LA.

INSERT SARCASM HERE.

so exciting.

END SARCASM.

He's a regular person, folks. One of the ladies here insists on putting execs and the like on pedestals as if they were gods or idols. They're regular people in a corporate job. They just earn more money than the average person, but they are people too. They have allergies, upset stomachs, cavities and have to clip their toenails and trim nosehairs just like everyone else. They are not better than anyone else, certainly not better than you and not better than me.

This is why I don't bat an eyelash when I am thrown, by chance, into situations like this.

It just boggles me that some people choose to, not forced to, but insist and choose to treat them like they were more special and go ABOVE and WELL BEYOND.

These 3 letter gods have insecurities, and I'm pretty sure have felt inadequate or had low self esteem at some point in time. This is the levelling point. Knowing these little details will stop those three letters, be it, PHD, MBA, or CEO, from making you roll out the proverbial red carpet for them.

I'm not saying act disrespectful, be normal, but don't act like a bumbling idiot thinking you just met Jesus and kneel down to kiss their penny loafers.

Advertisement



22nd July 2010

Great entry
This is a great entry M! Keep on writing them. And also, don't forget it was the MBA's in Wall Street that brought down the world economy... :-) Except Canada's, of course! You guys are awesome!!!

Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb