Goodbye, Nancy!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Piccadilly
December 11th 2008
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nancy is going back to Oregon in two days, so our little Thanksgiving Day group plans a goodbye dinner.

Catherine and I are the first to arrive at the Mexican restaurant in Leceister Square. I stand outside for a few minutes, taking in the majesty of Leceister Square. The square is pretty big, with a grassy area in the center that has benches for sitting. That area is currently occupied by a Christmas carousel and vendors who sell cotton candy and other amusement park-like games. I love the bright lights. The buildings are so tall and old and intricately beautiful. People bustle around, and I feel energized. I absolutely love London.

Once inside, Catherine and I are barely sitting in our booth when Stephanie calls. By phone, we guide her up the stairs and to the right until she finds us. I pull out the Texas Embassy t-shirt I bought for Nancy, and Steph produces some wrapping paper and tape. My phone rings. Nancy is here already!

I talk to her for a minute or two, then act like my phone cut out before I could tell her where our table is. "Catherine," I say. "Go downstairs to get her, but pretend like you forgot where we're sitting and you can't find the table. We just need about three minutes to get this wrapped."

"OK," she giggles, jumping up and hurrying away.

Stephanie and I laugh and laugh as we frantically try to wrap Nancy's shirt and sign a card.

In the nick of time, we finish. Catherine returns with Nancy in tow, and we hug our hellos.

Stephanie orders chips and salsa for all of us, and the portion is enough for only one person. "Can we get some more?" Steph asks the waiter.

He looks surprised. "More than that?"

"Yeah," we all say. "We're all going to eat them."

"Oh, yes," he says, "but we will charge you for it."

Stephanie argues with him for a few minutes before we finally decide that one order will have to be enough. I guess I've been spoiled by La Siesta where you get unlimited chips and salsa with any meal.

It's a fun dinner with my girlfriends, complete with margaritas and chocolate sundaes for dessert. Nancy loves her shirt, and Stephanie gives us all a framed photo of all of us together. She also gives me some maize, which is the British version of cornmeal. Not quite the same thing, but maybe I can make some pseudo-cornbread out of this.

I'm thankful that Stephanie thought of me when she saw it. Although it's sad saying goodbye to Nancy, I know we'll be in touch via facebook or whatever. And I'm thankful to have such thoughtful friends as these.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb