TransSiberian Trip Prep


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
January 5th 2014
Published: January 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Finally the last week has arrived! I have been planning this holiday for about 6 months. My inspiration - Paulo Coelho's Aleph! It was strange how closely I could relate to the book at that point in time of my life. So when I decided to take a 3 months career break the first thing that came to my mind was the Trans Siberian tour!

Initial research involved a lot of searching on internet, reading blogs and articles about the Trans Siberian experiences. Needless to say there was a lot of information available that helped me plan the trip, I decided to go with Moscow to Beijing via Mongolia route option as it fascinated me the most. I realised very early in my research how complex planning this tour could get and hence I decided to opt for a travel agent rather than trying to book travel tickets and hotels in various cities in Russia, Mongolia and China! RealRussia was the agency everyone swore by, upon looking up their website and contacting them I immediately knew they were amongst the reliable ones and could be trusted! They helped me with all the bookings and as expected they were amazing with their service. I decided to apply for all the 3 country visas by myself (being an Indian I am well aware of the visa processes and embassy requirements)!

As my travel date comes closer I am constantly reminded of Red's dialogue in Shawshank when he is on his way to meet Andy...I find I'm so excited, I can barely sit still or hold a thought in my head. I think it's the excitement only a free man can feel, a free man at the start of a long journey whose conclusion is uncertain. So let the journey begin! 13th January 2014

Advertisement



12th January 2014
Time to pack!

Pack light!
I will be following! I loved the entire Transsiberian route and think fondly of experiences in Russia. One tip, travel super light! Nothing is worse than sprinting for your carriage with a gigantic rutsack! Good luck!
27th January 2014
Time to pack!

Thanks :)
Yes I agree. It has been a great ride so far. Just updated my Yekaterinburg experience.

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb