Shopping? Me? Never!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
April 25th 2012
Published: May 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 3
Today i walked from Picadilly circus through to soho and checked out all the shops. Owing to the fact I really can't fit anything else in my backpack, shopping is not as exciting when you know you can't buy! Haha I did take a heap of photos in a cake store because each of thier cakes were works of art. I walked around various side streets, somehow ended up in the area with all the xxx shops so I found the nearest park to go and eat my lunch. To my delight, the Vogue building. I am so into fashion, as most of you well know so seeing the pot plants and posters at the window gave me such a thrill. I tried to imagine myself walking in there to work, but as I was wearing my travelling jeans which are covered in the white fluff my winter scarff has vomitted up, and I was wearing my fleece lined, waterproof ski boots and thermals coverd by another 2-3 layers of clothes to deal with the cold weather.....you can see how my imaginatiin struggled to put me in the 'Vogue' picture.

I felt as I hadn't done enough sight seein today so I was determined to see 'Big Ben' before I went back home to Chloe's house. As I started to walk down to the river it started to spit with rain - this wasn't a real issue as it had been raining on and off all day. What it developed into was Yasi-like cyclonic conditions. The wind was so severe that the raindrops were punching me in the face where they had gotten around my poor umbrella which was not coping and had given uo and turned inside out. Even when it turned back the right way, each of the panels of the umbrella were flapping. There aren't any places to shelter either, there are no eaves on the old buildings so I just kept walking. Finally I reached Westminister Abbey where I attempted to take photos in the rain, only to have to then try and clear the water off the lens to take a decent photo. I was very cold, very wet, and just a little bit ready to throw in the towel. But luckily two minutes later the howling of the wind and rain suddenly stoped. The sun came out and shone brightly and a beautiful big rainbow appeared over Big Ben and Westminister Abbey. It was a real 'wow' moment for London. Definately one of my favourite photos! I had dinner at an Italian place where they spoke very little English but the food was amazing and then I made my way back on the train.

Thursday was a pretty slow day, I did some shopping in the local shops, far too much as now my pack is ridiculous and then had to pack and re-pack my bag to head off to see Erikka and Sid, my new friends from the Scotland trip. My bag is definately way too heavy. Must send stuff home asap. It was really great to see Sid and Erikka again and hang out with them. I can definately see myself moving to London to do something similar. It has been great meeting such amazing people so early in my trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb