DAY 2: His post-mortem, My laugh...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
October 18th 2011
Published: October 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I woke up in the early hours of today morning at the ring of my cell phone which I had forgot to put on silent. He was oblivious yet to the fact of the hassles I had faced after leaving him and called me up to explore. He wanted to go to the London Dungeons first. It was around 8, and I didn’t want to waste time too sleeping so replied in affirmative and by 10 was there.
I had gone to scary houses before, but this one seemed a bit different at first. For starters, I was scared the life out of me when we were led into a maze with mirrors everywhere and saw a skeleton shaking metal gate all of a sudden. Yet after some time things got a bit boring. I saw all these before and come on, which decent guy would be scared by cries of deceased and skeletons when he knows they are not real? My friend Sam though, seemed to like it. He actually made sounds himself in the dark sometimes, to scare an innocent tourist out of their wits. And when he fell down to the ground scared, he himself picked him up saying “Dunno which bastard thinks this is funny to scare you!”. Neither could see each other properly so the tourist believed he was the saviour and not the tormentor! Then there was a surgery where at first a ‘supposed’ doctor operates on a ‘supposed’ dead body and takes out his intestines and bladder. My friend stood up as a volunteer and when he was being operated upon, and all looked upon in horror, he was laughing and asking “Man, where is the pain? I thought a bit of pain came complimentary with operation! I did not know whether to laugh or admire his guts. It was noon by the time we left.
I had narrated him yesterday’s incidents in the meanwhile and in the talks he was astounded that my daily rent was only €10 while his was over €200! He rued he didn’t know about Triptromp and Tripadvisor before. We went to Goodman city restaurant for lunch in the afternoon. Triptromp had told us about the delicious steaks there and we had got some great discount coupons too! After a delicious lunch, we decided to go back and take some rest. I paid for the luch for both of us and didn’t have anything much more than the money for going back. Sam suggested that he would book a car tomorrow and we could go to some far place away from London after visiting Windsor castle.
With Sam around though, as I had begun to realise no day could be boring. As we walked outside the restaurant, Sam noticed that his wallet was missing. Right in front someone had started to walk briskly, and his shabby clothes pretty much made us determine that he was the culprit. When we called him up, he started to run. So we began to chase him across two crossings till a policeman saw him and stopped the guy. When we caught up, all we found was a lady’s handbag and an admission by the guy that he had just picked up a lady’s handbag from the restaurant and was running as he thought we were asking about that bag. So much for the wallet! So here we were, again stranded, with only one of us having money to go back and the other penniless. Thankfully though, the policeman helped us again, and soon I was back in the hotel around evening 8, to take a big big nap.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb