Official Day One


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
April 18th 2006
Published: April 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello All,

First a brief introduction.

I am Catherine Maria R--- your narrator for this excursion. My mother is Catherine Maria R----S----B----who from now on may be referred to as Tyu-Tyu or Middle Catherine or Momma or whatever makes sense at the time😊 My Grandmother is Catherine Maria R----S-----H---- also referred to Nagy or Big Catherine or again-- whatever makes sense at the time😊 We are joined by my Aunt Liz or Elizabeth S-----B----, who is my mom's sister/Nagy's second daughter...Whew! I hope that all makes sense. (By the way we don't actually hypen our names like that--i'm just trying to help ya'll understand the family relationships!😊

We are on this trip to research our family's history. Nagy was born and raised in Hungary and parts of Slovakia. Her transition to the U.S. is amazing in itself, but we want to learn more about her noble ancestors and their lives, as well as the history of Budapest and Nagy's experiences there.

However Nagy, Momma, and I decided to take advantage of an extended layover in London. Here is our experience, I hope that you find it enjoyable and/or helpful.

April 18, 2006:

We 3 C’s (Catherine Maria, that is) are in London! I call today the official day one because even though we arrived yesterday (12 hours early I might addJ) we were useless after our red-eye flight and two hours tube ride from Heathrow. Apparently we have arrived on a holiday week so not all tube lines are active, and to anyone who hasn’t experienced the tube with luggage—it is no fun! Nagy did her best to help us with everything (toys for the orphans, etc.), but I was so worried about her with everyone rushing and all those stairs. Anyways other people were very helpful when they saw me struggling to carry 4 bags at once… It was actually kinda humorous to watch I’m sure!

Our hotel is Exceptional!! Mom and I have the corner room with feather comforters, a curved glass wall, 10 inch moldings, and every woman’s dream bathroom (marble everywhere and heated towel racks!)… Nagy has the room next door, which is equally lavish, but slightly smaller. The café has great food according to the big Catherine’s, but I only experienced our “on a budget dining” at the grocery store, which was perfect in my opinion! We had white wine, sushi, shrimp salad, apples, grapes, bread, cheese, and more for around 22 pounds!

So today we are setting out for a two hour bus tour that skims the city. The ticket is for 24 hours so we plan to get on around noon and complete the tour—then start again and get off at the venues that interest us. Tomorrow morning, if we are so inclined, we will hop the tour bus again for a ride to the places we missed today! (Nagy’s idea)




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

London Bridge DragonLondon Bridge Dragon
London Bridge Dragon

Just a cool shot with the reflection
Nagy and INagy and I
Nagy and I

I just love this picture of us...
Nagy and INagy and I
Nagy and I

Don't mess with those Hungarian girls--they look tough...


22nd April 2006

?
Almost Royalty? You blew your chance big time! ;) Looks like you are having a blast! I really enjoy the blog (my 1st!) Take care
23rd April 2006

easy
Man, have to admit, those Hungarian chicks are intimidating :) Hope you ladies continue to enjoy yourselves.

Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb