TheDorchester


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
November 4th 2003
Published: November 4th 2003
Edit Blog Post

Small digression from postings about Toronto - when I travelled more to Europe one thing that struck me was all the references to Hemmingway - where he slept, ate and wrote etc. One such location was the Dorchester hotel on Park Lane, NE side of High Park. There is this bookstore on the north side of Cambridge Circus I always go to when I was in London - black and red interior. Was going to Madrid that weekend so was reading about Hemmingway (was into bullfights and much of his writing is about Spain) and they detailed some of his stays in London. One hotel he stayed in was the Dorchester. Decided I would go there for a beverage so took the tube I beleive it was Elephant and Castle stop and walked south. Quite a few nice upscale car dealerships - Jaguar, McClaren, Mercedes - saw a Lotus parked somewhere quite "swish" as my English friends would say. Finally found the Dorchester went to The Bar on the left near the entrance. Obviously renovated. Reminds me of The Library at the Royal York in Toronto. Had a sherry and the free nuts and thought of what it must have been like when Hemmingway was there (assuming he was in that Bar).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 14; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb