My Time in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
June 21st 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

When we got on the plane from Singapore it started a long 13 hour journey to England. We had lots of on-demand TV and movies to watch as well as in built video games. This was all good for keeping me up because the plane left at 1.40pm (11.40am Australian time) and arrived 7.45pm English time (4.45am Australian time) so I had actually missed a nights sleep.

By then I was so tired and when the plane landed it was very cold and we still had to go on another 2 trains before we got to my Dad's house. When we actually got there I didn't feel tired anymore but by the time I had surfed all of the different English TV channels and had watched a few I had gotten tired and I went to bed.

The next day I went to see my Dad's Finnish friend Irmeli who I hadn't seen since I was one. She was visiting England. We went to meet her at a statue of a pair of angel wings across the road from the local Woolworths and the funny thing is that Woolworths in England sell everything but food. We went to have
St. Pauls CathedralSt. Pauls CathedralSt. Pauls Cathedral

Me standing in front of St. Pauls Cathedral
something to eat and I had a banana smoothie.

After we had eaten we went down to the canal. We looked at some of the house boats and there was a dog sitting on top of one of them. While we were walking I noticed the incredible number of bikes they have in England and people try to chain them to almost anywere they can find to the point where some people have put up signs saying NO CHAINED BIKES PERMITTED. Then it was time for Irmeli to leave to go on her train to the airport. Then we went home and I watched TV.

Next we got to go to the London Tombs (Which are not real tombs but a tourist attraction about the history of London). We also saw alot of stuff around London like St. Paul's Cathedral which was MASSIVE! When we arrived at the tombs we went into a room where there was an actor in period costume who talked about what we were going to do. He told us his name was Berkeley and that we were going to go on the tour ourselves and someone would have to take up his name as the leader. Someone did and we went through to our first room of about 5. There were people from the past in each room including Vikings, Medieval and Victorian London and there was also the ghost of the American guy who bought London Bridge and took it back to America. Finally we went down to the Tomb where you walked throught different rooms with lots of ghouls jumping out at us from pitch black corners as well as strobe lights flashing like they were broken. This was the final activity for the day before we went back home.







Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Me standing By a ChurchMe standing By a Church
Me standing By a Church

I am standing by a church I walked past on my way to the London Tombs
Me on the Millennium BridgeMe on the Millennium Bridge
Me on the Millennium Bridge

I am standing on the Millennium Bridge on my way back from the London Tombs


22nd June 2008

Great to read your detailed entry. I don't know how much time you will have after this but it was great to read so much detail, and all your reactions to the differences Love Mum
22nd June 2008

London blog
I loved reading your first entry. It was very nice to see you put a picture of my mum up. Hopefully we'll meet while you're on this side of the world. Phoebe
22nd June 2008

Hi from Aunty Tasha
Hi Liam thanks for sharing your travel experience with us. sounds like you are getting to do lots of cool stuff and really enjoying being somewhere so different from home. see you soon, love Aunty tasha
1st July 2008

1/7/08 Just got a decent connection to your blog
Hi Liam pleased to see you having such a good time. How does your father con you into posing for photos which look good. You will have lots of stories to tell us when you get home. Love Grampos at Birkdale

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb