One day in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
September 19th 2005
Published: December 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The next morning we dropped Greg off at the airport and said goodbye to Grandpa and Ug. It was so strange to see them after almost a year and then to let them go again. But I was still with my mom and I knew I still had quite an adventure yet to experience. Mom and I left the car (now THAT I will miss terribly) and dragged out luggage onto the tube to get to South Kensington where our hotel was located. Once we got there we were starving so we ordered tea where I picked up my first case of travelers' food poisoning from an egg sandwhich. Much later that afternoon I ventured out with Mom to see some of London since it was our only day there. London is beautiful! I want to go back there some day. There is far too much to do and see. I saw Hyde Park and the Victoria and Albert Museum. That night we walked around town and saw Big Ben, the Parliament building (and quite a nice anti Blair/Bush protest blockade), Westminster Abbey (but just the outside), and Trafalgar Square. We also walked to the river and saw the London Eye and went through the Military Barracks at night which was terrifying. There was a dark tunnel you had to walk through first to get to the ring where the queen inspects the troops. As we walked through the tunnel we could see someone standing there with a sword and we couldn't tell if it was a live person or a statue. As we got nearer he jumped and saluted just to scare us and it certainly did! We had to go back out through the tunnel and past the soldier again but at least we were warned the second time.
Back at the hotel we laughed about the situation but at the time I wish I'd had a taser gun. The next morning at 5 am we got up to leave for Paris. It was a short time in London but, aside from an unfortunate egg salad, I had a wonderful time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb