The Newest of New Years


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
December 19th 2007
Published: December 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christmas Day 2007Christmas Day 2007Christmas Day 2007

My brother stapling my head with a christmas cracker gift. Just like any normal household.
I haven't had any time to write my blog for the last two weeks but now that I have five minutes, I actually have some news.

I'm going back into honest guv employment in 08. I should be starting the year as Deputy Editor of a financial magazine based in Soho, the name and company of which I'll keep to myself until I have signed on the dotted line in my own blood. But I've been offered this job and have accepted verbally, and I'm excited to have this opportunity for a firm with a good reputation, big ambitions, good managers, good products, and lots scope for me to do stuff and things.

I also saw a promising flat in Brixton at the beginning of the week which I hope the peeps there decide to let me live in - if they do I could be in there first week Jan, ready to start my new job second week Jan. They have a baby grand piano! a Jacuzzi bath! A huge fridge! and the flatmates are both professional musicians/composers! Love it! We'll see what they make of me though.

Christmas is next week and I feel that my hard work in looking for the right job and the right flat may be paying off and I may have some sort of organisation and settledness in place to start the new year, my 28th year. This may be my second non-rubbish christmas - I usually hate the whole peroid and take to my bed, and I hate new years eve even more. But this new years I have been invited to Alexis' family gathering to help them eat traditional Guyanese garlic pork, which I'm excited about and should be fun. Then I should be starting 08 with a new job, a new house and loads of work to get on with.

Im hoping to keep the freelance contacts I've developed live while I work because they're too valuable to go to waste. I heard randomly from someone in the States about a ghost writing opportunity (!) related to my work on Families In Business, based on a reccommendation from John Ward, the US' pre eminent scholar on family business who I in fact enjoyed referncing in a somewhat sarcastic way in the last couple of articles I wrote for FIB... he must have a good sense of humour. So I will find out more about that in 08 and see if I can get involved. I would also like to do the odd bit for my friend Katie as she now looks after a bunch of business titles. We'll see if I get any time. I sometimes forget that writing isnt like being a widget making machine; youve got to dedicate head time to it, time to sit down and think about what to ask, what to write, how to plan for that particular magazine, so if I'm heavily involved in my new job I may not be able to. And of course I have a boyfriend and a social life that need my attention and I still have to fit in sleeping and eating. I haven't even had a single chance to look at Heel, the online magazine I tried to start through Facebook as a group, a sort of informal magazine for and about career women which I hope to test out my theories in this area on, and get various friends to contribute to.

x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb