The Great Walk


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Knightsbridge
September 17th 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Saturday 22 August

We woke up sore and sorry today. I thought it was the dancing at first.. no.. more like all the steps we climbed yesterday. After a nice hot breaky, we took off through Hyde Park - LONG WALK. Big mistake. We should have Tubed it. The whole point of having an Oyster Card. Too much walking just makes you tired and miserable and you don’t enjoy it as much as you should.
We found a cute squirrel near the lake. Very cute how they nibble. It came very close. Thankfully it didn’t jump on my face. 
We finally made it to Notinghill. The number of people were overwhelming. More than last time for sure. I love the markets. I bought a suede bag from Oi! And a chocolate peanut butter cake from the Hummingbird Bakery. It was such a pretty place. We truly walked for miles. It was impossible to find a toilet. So near busting, we turned off to go to Harrods. We finally found the tube - went in- paid- and had to walk out. Way too many people. We grabbed a cab and went to Harrods and straight to the Luxury Loos.  The toy store was amazing. Just fantastic. We stopped at The Chocolate Café and I had a delicious choc milkshake. So rich. Next stop - the Christmas Shop. I love all the Christmas music playing. A little taste of Chrissy in August. I bought a Nutcracker ornament and my Harrods bag here. The food hall was just as glorious as ever. I FINALLY got my fudge after all that waiting. I got clotted cream, butterscotch and chocolate. The trip home was tedious on the tube, but we made it. A quick trip to the pub for dinner (pie) and an early night. I will never walk those sorts of distances again when I’m sightseeing. You don’t factor in all the walking you do once you get to the location. Far better to be fresh when you get there. However.. this is one of the things you have to compromise when you go with other people I guess.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb