London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kensington
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

buildingsbuildingsbuildings

these are the buildings across from our dorms.
Hey everyone! I decided to create a travel blog so that I can put pictures up about things I am doing while I'm in London for a few weeks. I just arrived in London 2 days ago and so far I am having a wonderful time. Despite what people might think, the sun does actually come out here. We have had the pleasure of seeing the sun 2 days in a row. It was raining the first day that we got here, but since then it has really brightened up. It starts up pretty sunny and then gets kinda cold later in the evening.

Yesterday, we went on an official bus tour of the city and were able to see some awesome things. London is a huge city and hard to take in all at once. Aimee and I plan on visiting the places that we saw later on in more detail. We saw the London eye (a huge ferris wheel that takes 30 min for one revolution), the Queens home, Big Ben, and some churches. We saw a lot of stuff but I cant really remember all of the stuff that we saw.

Since I have been here,
telephone boothtelephone boothtelephone booth

trying to be like super man in the booth.
I have had the opportunity to go to some local pubs and hang out with some of the other students in the program. One thing that is different here than in the states is that the beer is a little bit stronger. haha. But thats not what I was going to say. Each beer has a different glass which I think is pretty neat. I am beginning to taste the difference in the beers. There is actually a beer here that tastes like apple cider. But anyway. I am really excited to watch a really important soccer match that is coming up in the pubs. It is Manchester United vs. Chelsea. Apparentely, no two English teams have made it to the finals. Im excited to be in a city that appreciates soccer as much as I do.

Well, thats all I really have for right now. I will keep you updated as the days go by! I hope all is well where you are!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

roadroad
road

just thought this was pretty
churchchurch
church

one of the many "churches of england"
meme
me

our dorms
music buildingmusic building
music building

the royal college of music builiding
royal albert  hallroyal albert  hall
royal albert hall

royal albert hall-they have a lot of musical things here
waterloowaterloo
waterloo

battle of waterloo-victory over napeloean
dustin hoffmandustin hoffman
dustin hoffman

dustin hoffmans house!
queens guardsqueens guards
queens guards

these men were marching outside her palace
sculpturesculpture
sculpture

sculpture outside buckingham palace
buckingham palacebuckingham palace
buckingham palace

the queens home!
menmen
men

"bowl hat" men not really sure of their importance
"toilets""toilets"
"toilets"

a very nice "toilet"
london eyelondon eye
london eye

this takes 30 min for one revolution


25th May 2008

Blew up your straightener, huh??????
Mals, You and Aimee have some great blogs! I find out more info in Aimee's though. LOL!!! I hope you are taking more pictures than you are posting. Looks as if you are having a blast! How is school going? I hear you are going to Ireland? Sweet. Have fun and update your blog soon. 1 week down, 6 to go!!! How's the $$$ holding out. Remember what I said, let me know if you need some more! Did G get there? Love and hugs, miss u, MOM.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb