Classes, Hairdryers and Trips


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
October 2nd 2008
Published: October 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi there!

First off, I want to say hi to Brian's mom. I recently learned that she has been reading my blog so I hope I'm keeping you in the loop. Mrs. Sara told Brian and me at the airport to look after one another but I think he's working the hardest on that. Besides the fact that I'm still every unfamilar with the Tube, I also haven't quite registered that cars drive in the opposite direction, even though I'm trying really hard! There have been a few times when Brian whipped out the "mom arm" to stop me from walking into oncoming traffic. In my opinion, he has become the ring leader of the group. I find myself walking behind him, just assuming he knows where he's going. So Mrs. Sara, your son is doing a great job here in London. If anyone would like to read Brian's blog, it's http://brianslondonblog.blogspot.com/. I tell the stories and he gives detailed history of everything we have seen (including wikipedia links).

With the exception of my European Studies class which begins in an hour, I have had all of my other classes. They're great! The teachers are all very intelligent and are graduates of Cambridge, NYU, Oxford and the like. That's really all I have to say about classes. You never learn a lot on first day of class.

The title of this entry is "Classes, Hairdryers and Trips," so let me tell you about the hairdryer. It was a stressful situation. My neighbor is a girl from Germany. We exchanged names the first day we met, but even after I asked her to repeat it twice, I still couldn't understand her. And the other students on the floor never say her name either, so I assume no one understands her. I've resorted to calling her German Girl (not in front of her face obviously). So excluding all the details, German Girl and I got off on the wrong foot and we didn't really hit it off. But today was strike three. She asked to borrow my hairdryer and broke it. It won't work in my outlet or any other outlets on the floor and obviously not in German Girl's outlet. I know it doesn't seem like a big deal but she broke my hairdryer!!! I borrowed it from a friend, so Laura if you're reading this, I will buy you a new one! So now I'm hairdryerless until I find a cheap place to buy another one. Ugh...

On a happier note, Brian, Anthony, Stephanie and I are going to Bath tomorrow and part of Saturday and then heading up to Cardiff, with a quick stop at Stonehenge. Stonehenge wasn't on my must-see list, but how many times do you go to the UK? I need to get ready for class soon, but I'll write after this weekend!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb