Full Circle


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, after making my way out of Rome, which turned out ot be as easy as I thought, but a much longer train ride than planned I arrived in Pisa. I was able to get in in the early afternoon so I took the rest of the day to head across town and find the tower. Pisa doesnt have all that much to offer, not that its not a nice city, just mostly the major touristy areas. After taking in what is one of the largest churches Ive ever seen, and a giant building that was a good 7 stories high and taking up probably about half a baseball field that was used soley for babtisms I took the regular pictures with the tower. Pushing it, holding it, standing in front of it (by the way all pictures should be able to go up tomorrow). On my way back to the hotel I found this awesome Muslim restaurant that had this sandwhich which was a huge roll cut open, stuffed with french fries, lettuce, some other things that tasted good but im not sure what they were, and then the lamb, im pretty sure. Point is, it was amazing. I havent found it again, yet. I left in the morning after having to do a ticket exchange and ended up in Milan that night. I was supposed to meet a friend there and didnt see her. So i went to a small internet cafe and found she had email me to let me know that her brother had been in a car accident and that she had to head back to her home town, unfourtunatley my train got in about a half hour after tha last bus she had to catch left, so after not being to find anywhere to stay I ended up finding a ticket on sale for the following morning at 6:45 to Paris. I have a weird feeling we went through Switzerland, but Im not sure. Obviously France. The customs agents came through the train checking everyones passports, they ended up taking the guy sitting right behind me with them. We didnt see him after that. About two stops later, three of four armed police got on the train and walked through. We never heard what was going on. The train we were on however was a TGV, the high speed train. They supposedly run at about 200 mph. Id believe it. So, without trying, I ended up in Paris later yesterday afternoon. I was going to stay but there was absolutely NO where with openings. I walked around for awhile, then figured I should get to londong before it was to late to find a place there. I was going to buy a ticket for the chunnel train but my card would work, so i had to go to the ATM. When i got back, the same ticket i was going to buy just 5 minutes before had dropped 15€ in price. I guess i got lucky. I got into London last night at about 7, found a place to stay and called it a night. Today was spent mostly trying to get things organized and ready for next week. I ended up being at Buckingham Palace however at the same time that Tony Blair handed over the government over to Thomas Brown, the new prime minister. London isnt as daunting as it was in the short amount of time i had before. Its really easy to get around, and relatively cheap considering how expensive everything else is. I have to pack up tonight, I move into my room tomorrow where Ill be for the rest of my time over here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.38s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb