Superbowl Sunday Slumber Party


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Highgate
February 1st 2009
Published: February 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Stephanie: Homemade chili
Catherine: Guacamole dip, chips, and litte cream cheese rolls
Me: Sweet cornbread

Catherine, Steph, and I sit on the air mattress and eat while we watch The Family Stone, which I'd never seen before, but rather enjoyed (surprisingly). I really wanted to see Journey's opening act, but we miss it somehow. Journey rules, y'all. Jennifer Hudson sings the best version of the national anthem I think I've ever heard. I get all teary-eyed, probably because I've been feeling all patriotic lately.

Anyway, it's a great game. I'm pulling for the Cardinals, because they'd be such unlikely winners. We don't get ANY of the Superbowl commercials here! As the game continues, snow begins to fall in London.

And it doesn't stop.

I keep running to the window and checking out the accummulation, saying, "Snow, baby, snow!!"

I really don't wanna have school tomorrow. By midnight, there's at least half an inch. I wish one of the teams would take a big enough lead so that I'd know who would win, so that I can go to sleep already! I have to get up extra early to get to school on time, PLUS the humanities audit starts tomorrow and I'm being observed!

Finally, everyone has dozed off except for me. It's 3 a.m., and the TV is still on, and I can't sleep because of the game. When the game ends, I search for the remote. Dean wakes up (he's on the couch), turns off the TV, and gets Stephanie up and into bed.

With more room on the air mattress now that Steph is gone, and with the TV off, you'd think I could fall asleep. But I can't. I toss and turn and can't get comfortable. Maybe it's because Catherine is on the mattress next to me, and I haven't slept with another person in a long time.

Please, God, please don't let there be school tomorrow. I'd be so freakin' tired, and I don't wanna be observed with that horrible year 9 class.

Eventually, I fall into a restless sleep....


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Slumber PartySlumber Party
Slumber Party

Me, Catherine, and Steph on the air mattress in the living room.
Checking InternetChecking Internet
Checking Internet

Steph is seeing if she should go to work while Dean looks on.


Tot: 0.443s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb