Diary of a Future Weekend


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Greenwich
April 22nd 2016
Published: April 22nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

A quandry. I didn't stay in touch with many people from University, but the advent of social media (I joined FB just after my Central American adventure) meant I was able to catch up with some that I really cared for but hadn't seen on a regular basis like I have my Best Man & Deputy Best Man, who have been very welcome participants in my life for 25 years. It's been great seeing families & careers & the whole shebang, even remotely.

We were a fairly disparate bunch, but had one thing in common, a shared University Hall & the fact that we were generally first to run the social events, be found rigging lights or cleaning lines, or decorating into the early hours the night before a party, then enjoying it, then having a post-mortem in a favoured curry house as the sun came up Anyway, call it nostalgia or post-millennial angst, or what you will, but I felt the need to see more of some of them as 25 years had elapsed since we'd each first packed a box of CDs, a kettle, a mug, a couple of posters maybe some books & our pulling trousers/skirts & set off for the halls of academe.

First up was one who runs pubs who happens to be near where The Munchkin (now known as The Medium Sized Boy) was playing in a Rugby festival. Over a quiet pint in the garden of one of his pubs we came up with a thought. "What about if we all got together again?"

The idea seemed fine, & the twelve-hour (thanks to a car breakdown & rotten service by my recovery company) was spent imagining what we could get up to. Now here is the plan I came up with. London was likely to be the venue as it was close for the majority of us, & at the time I had thought our families might be involved as I'm so family focused these days. Please bear with me, but this is what I thought!

First of all assemble near Charing Cross for those coming in to Central London. Hop on the Thames Clipper for a (quick) cruise down the Thames to Greenwich, my favourite bit of the city.

There meet any others coming at either The Admiral Hardy or The Coach in the market. Reviews suggest they might not now be as good as they were, but only a meeting place before hitting Greewich Market (it'll be food day) for stuff for picnic. Stroll past Cutty Sark (ship, the pub comes later) & National Maritime Museum towards Trafalgar Tavern, which is atmospheric with big windows onto Thames, and after a stiffener eat the picnic in park near the playground for the kids.

Don't panic, The Plume of Feathers is just nearby for further libations. It's a classic London Boozer, but with a sun-trap courtyard out the back. Then it's Go East! Not so young men and women! Round the side of the Trafalgar is The Yacht, again with windows out onto the river. Time for another stroll to The Cutty Sark (pub, the ship was earlier) and hope that the weather is good enough to sit on the benches outside watching the boats go by.

Round the corner is probably my favourite London pub, The Pelton Arms. Some get excited about the fact it was in Only Fools & Horses, for me it's the beer, food & atmosphere, just like dropping into someone's (very large) front room. If I lived next door to here I wouldn't bother with furniture in my house except a bed, I'd be here with the papers, or listening to one of the bands, or with friends, or whatever I chose.

Then it's a gallop up to Maze Hill, either for scoff at The Vanbrugh (very good, pretty gastro) if not full from The Pelton, or a quick trip on the railway back to London Bridge & a middle-eastern restaurant round there I know.

Bangin' 'ardcore choons? No. Hipsters, tourists or bridge-and-tunnel people? Tourists only really at the beginning. Bouncers & aggro? No.

Chance to talk, catch up, find a seat? Yes, certainly towards end. Boring as hell? Probably, but that's how I would spend a Saturday these days!



Oh, and what did I reply when TMSB asked what I remembered about the chap we met after his tournament? The stuff above about making parties happen for others!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb