Christmas in July


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Clapham
July 13th 2008
Published: October 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Although the weather in London has stayed closer to an Australian winter (ie I was still wearing jeans and long sleeves) than summer, I am finally starting to feel a bit summery (thanks to a couple of days of nice weather). I then had a truly inspired idea (if I do say so myself). Why not adopt the Australian tradition of Christmas in July (whereby you have the full on cooked roast dinner and wear a santa hat (or suit for those who wish) in the temperature to which it is more suited and without sweltering to death) with a difference? Yep - I hosted an 'Aussie' Christmas in July, with a seafood BBQ for lunch rather than Christmas roast. I hoped that by the time the designated day arrived, the weather would be warm enough for boardies and thongs.

Without exaggeration, all I can say is, it was a sensation. So much seafood (and Christmas pud as a concession to the event). You can imagine how happy this made me.

The day started early - with a 5am departure for Billingsgate Fish Markets. It is a seafoodie's paradise, although more aimed toward bulk purchasers (restaurants and the like) than individuals. This means you have to be ready to gut and scale the fish yourself, de-ink and de-beak the squid and peel the prawns - not the cleanest of tasks! However I managed it, learning some new skills along the way (as an aside, am still finding the occasional fish scale around the house - man those things go everywhere).

Of course, I over catered (as I am prone to do) so there was plenty to go around. The weather stayed nice (a Christmas miracle!!!) and a fab time was had by all.

Anyway - the pictures tell the rest of the story.

Merry Christmas in July!





Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Paula & BlakePaula & Blake
Paula & Blake

My old room-mate at work
The netball crewThe netball crew
The netball crew

With a message for our mate Michelle who could not make it as she was in hospital


Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 20; qc: 90; dbt: 0.1237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb