last days in London!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Chelsea
January 9th 2013
Published: January 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 7 -

January 10 I got up today around 8:30. Our first stop was at Earl's Court. We had to stop to show a few people the TARDIS. I guess it's this weird space and time machine from the tv show Dr. Who. Shannon was really excited about it, but most of us didn't understand. Not many people watch that show apparently. But I know my friend Rachel does so I took a picture of it for her

Then, we headed off for the National Archives. It was a long ride to get there because it was in zone three and our tube cards are only good in zones one and two. So, we took the tube as far as we could, and then hopped on a bus. Then there was a short walk to actually get there. At first, none of us really wanted to be there. But, I actually ended up enjoying it after we went through the sign up process. This process took forever. There was this tutorial on handling documents and then there were quizzes. Then, after we did that we had to wait in line for a fancy card to be printed out for us. now I am officially allowed to go in and look at e documents. My card however is really special looking because I wasn't sure if I could smile or not so I'm doing this weird thing with my face.

The national archives actually ended up being pretty cool once I figured out how to search for things. I found minutes from a war cabinet meeting so that was a really cool connection to earlier in the week. I then found a bunch of propaganda posters to look at which were all interesting and covered all different topics. Some even contradicted themselves which was kinda funny.

After we were done there we had the afternoon free so my roommate brandy and i left to go try and make our way home. We got a little lost though because she wouldn't listen to me and she got off a few bus stops early. We ended up walking around and found this place with 5£ gnocchi which was delicious so I guess I forgive her 😉

We finally made our way back to the hotel and took a nap because we were wiped! We didn't really do anything else except watch tv. They have this weird gameshow called eggheads here. We also watched a soap opera that was not good and once that was over we thought we should venture for food. We went to Frankie's pub for dinner which was across the street. I had great pizza and dessert and we also people watched. It's fun for psych majors. There were these guys from jersey that we made stories about which was fun.

Day 8

We went to breakfast, and then started waiting for Peter. We all thought that we were meeting at nine, but Peter told Blackwell nine thirty at breakfast. Luckily, he showed up at ten after so we didn't wait long. Then, Connor gave his presentation on Freud. It was short. He only talked about Freud's life, and not much about his studies. I kind of wished he'd done the opposite because I don't like Freud and therefore always forget what he said but oh well.

Then we headed for the Freud museum. We took the tube from district to Westminster and then switched to jubilee. Then jubilee took us to Finchley Rd. The museum was really just Freud's house that he lived in the last year of his life so we kinda filled the whole thing. It was kinda interesting with him being so influential and all but also a little strange. I found out that his daughter anna had a huge picture of him hanging above her bed.... Creepy! There was also a room for his study which was cool because they had the couch he saw patients on which I so bad wanted to lay on like a geek but it was roped off 😞. I also saw the chair he sat in and I found out that it was shaped funny to symbolize someone hugging him. I don't think I'd like that. There was this video room that told about his life and had some home videos on it which was cool. The gift shop there was extremely expensive. They had this fantastic mug that said Freudian sips, when you say one thing and you mean your mother! I don't know if all of you reading this will actually know what that means but it's hilarious. Unfortunately it was almost £10 and $20 is an expensive mug 😞

Our small group then headed off for lunch in South Kensington. We ate at Cafe Milan. I had this delicious panini that I was so happy with and a piece of cake with some ice cream. I budgeted too well and had leftover money to spend so I splurged a little.

Hayley really wanted to go to the geology museum because that's her major and it's free so we decided to go. It was actually cool because it was interactive and that makes any museum better. It also had lots of dinosaurs which is always cool. My friends and I always quote Meet the Robinsons "I have a big head and little arms" so we had fun at the T. rex exhibit. I kept testing Hayley on her geo knowledge because I didn't know what a lot of the stuff was but she was good and filled me in.

We also went to the animal exhibit and was reminded Of all my babies in Africa but I just had when they make hyenas look mean 😞. We also saw the human bio exhibit which was cool. I saw this giant fetus and obviously took a picture for Lauren and was like this is what's inside of you right now. There was also an exhibit on perception which is psychology so I loved it. We were there for quite a few hours but barely saw half if the museum. There was also this giant dinosaur skeleton in the lobby that for 10£ you could make light up and roar. We didn't do it but someone else did. It was cool but not worth that much. We decided to head home since the museum closed in an hour and we wouldn't be able to see another whole exhibit.

Hayley and I got Krispy Kreme donuts for dinner which were delish everyone else went to a bar upstairs. We all pooled our leftover pounds together to get a pitcher of sex on the beach which was so good, and actually a really smart way to get rid of our pounds but unfortunately I still had 15 pence left 😞 After that I headed to the hotel so I could pack I wasn't really feeling rolling all my clothes again so they didn't fit as well but that could have also been all the souvenirs.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb