James operates the Camden Locks


Advertisement
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

James writing Today I went to the Camden markets and we had lunch near the canal, I got a brazilian burger it was huge. Then we noticed a long house boat and it was a very beautiful and clean boat with nice people that own the boat. We had a chat to him about his boat and stuff then he had to get the boat through the lock and he offerd me to help him. So I pushed the lock thinking it wouldn't be so tough but I gave it a push and boy it was so so heavy. The man that owned the boat could push the boat easily but I struggled a bit but the more I progressed it got easyer. The man thought I was strong so I gave it a big heave and another heave until it was pimps so I'd finished the first lock and then he said would you like to help me on all of the locks to get my boat through and I said yep with a little smerk on my face. When you pull the lock it's like you're doing a scrum in rugby. The 2 locks look totaly different. The 1st lock has a sort of stairs going up to it to get across on the other side and the 2nd lock has a path way going across so you can get to the other side. the lock was quite hard to pull because sometimes you are hanging over the edge of of the water so sometimes the man had to do it but I coped. One time I was hanging over the edge and I nearly fell but lukiley the bars saved me from falling in. The last lock was a struggle it seemed more heavier maybe it was or maybe it wasn't
J



Advertisement



18th May 2009

All these locks, who got the keys?
Hi, James! I've seen photographs of narrowboats on the canals, and actually seen them in Birmingham, where canals run through the city centre. They look like a lot of fun! Glad you got to help. One day I'd like to have a holiday on one of these boats, because it looks like a jolly way of seeing England. But I think I might have to exercise very well indeed first. Or get a few rugby players to come along and help, and they'd drink up all my ginger beer and more besides. I wish I was on holiday in London and Paris. Keep up the writing, and you give your grandmother a hug from me. She's beautiful!
19th May 2009

What an adventure!
Hey James what an adventure you are having! I have enjoyed reading your story very much. You must be very tired. Looking forward to hearing about your next adventure. Mum xx

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb