Coming to a close


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Bloomsbury
July 25th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

FreemasonFreemasonFreemason

This is the Freemason building Emily and I went to because it looked cool. Doesn't it?
As you all can see.. I've been dwindling a bit. Well, it's that time; we have all slowed down a bit and are kind of ready for a bit more of a routine again. We went so strong at first... seeing everything, but you can really only be a tourist where you live for so long it seems, at least every single day. Plus, several of us have made some really nice friendships and truly enjoy just hanging out together. Doesn't give me much to write about though, does it? Well, I feel I've kept you all pretty active by reading, so I don't think anyone minds too much.
So let's see: Sunday night, we had some great Indian food. There are just tons of little tiny shops with home-made cheap food, and this particular one is just around the corner from our flat. It was YUMMY! I have learned more about Indian food since being here and know that I like it.
Monday was class, and then off to Tate Britain. This museum focuses on British painters like Constable, Sargent, Waterhouse, Hogarth, and Turner. Some of them are pretty spectacular, and really give you a perspective on the changing
Emily and LarissaEmily and LarissaEmily and Larissa

Crazy Friday nights! Like my new London-trendy outfit? It's a bit wild, but totally fits in here!
British scenery. Now that we've been here for a time, we can see places we know about, which is pretty cool. It's also interesting to see the changes of scenery over the years, as well as the portraiture. Portraits for the wealthy and for the family were a pretty big deal. It showed your wealth and status. I wonder if some of those people ever imagined how timeless they would become! Plus, getting to look at their outfits! Wow! And how our idea of beauty has evolved throughout the ages...
Monday night I had a neat experience. There are huge Vidal Sassoon and Aveda salons here in London for training. So I headed to Aveda for a free haircut! Yes, I said free. It was a nice experience because since they are in training, each snip seems to be the most precise one ever! My stylist did a fabulous job and even though it took a long time, it was fun and relaxing. Plus, it was absolutely pouring outside, so it was nice to be warm and cozy inside!
Tuesday morning though: sunlight! And it lasted all day long! So it was a park day. We ate Greek lunches in
15th century15th century15th century

This church and cemetery is where Anne Boleyn's father is buried!
one park and laid on a towel after lessons in another. I read my Harry Potter and relaxed all afternoon, and into the evening. We stayed up and giggled! It's nice to have those moments, even if they aren't as exciting to write about. Emily and I found that we have very similar musical tastes: Indigo Girls, Tori Amos, Norah Jones, etc. We've found a nice bond. Meanwhile, John and I have a bond over chocolate! That's always fun to enjoy!
Today is Wednesday, and I believe I am heading to the Savoy for tea with Blair's wife, Hannah this afternoon. I know, pretty ridiculous, and it makes me think of Ella Fitzgerald! I hope they have something there about her. We shall see. Then this evening, John, Emily, Dr. Thomas and I are headed to see Spamalot! It's the musical based on Monty Python's Holy Grail, so it should be pretty funny. We decided that we needed to laugh and just relax for our final theater evening.
I think tomorrow will again be somewhat relaxing, packing, buying those last couple of souvenirs and gifts.
Friday evening we have a farewell dinner as a class which is supposed to be
sunny dayssunny dayssunny days

Brian and Emily in the sun in the park! AHHH...
really nice, and then home again on Saturday.
I'm sure I'll write a bit more about my experiences the next couple of days after them.
I'm adding pics from the weekend to this entry as well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Brodie and MeBrodie and Me
Brodie and Me

The lovely horse I got to ride in Hyde Park!
English countrysideEnglish countryside
English countryside

Walking to Hever Castle, this is what I saw!
Hever CastleHever Castle
Hever Castle

This seems to be a good view. There is a square moat around the whole thing... perfect square!
Hever Castle 2Hever Castle 2
Hever Castle 2

Front view with the drawbridge.. yes a real one!
SwansSwans
Swans

It's like they were posing for me!
The pondThe pond
The pond

Here I am with an ice cream cone in front of the punting lake/pond. I could keep showing pics of the castle and grounds, but you might go crazy!
rose gardenrose garden
rose garden

We think of roses and England for a reason. They flourish here, and in more colors than I've ever seen in person!
underwaterunderwater
underwater

The park benches are really not supposed to be under water. You can see the flooding here!
churningchurning
churning

The water was really running down the river on Sunday. Everyone was out taking pictures and looking at any damage.


27th July 2007

Larissa's new career
What a wonderful adventure you have shared with us! Does make me wish we could have seen the gardens together... I think you should consider a new career - travel journalist! You did an amazing job of describing each place you visited - how you remembered all of the details is quite impresseive.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb