We've Arrived!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Bloomsbury
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so I am here, and so are three of my cohorts! Our flats are amazing. We cannot even begin to imagine how much they would cost if we were to live there for real... thousands of dollars, or even to purchase, one girl said in the millions of pounds.. CRAZY! Already grocery shopped, and had a cup of coffee... still awake after being up all night, but that's okay. The biggest adventure of my day so far was the cab ride.. very awkward feeling like I'm on the wrong side of the road and having some of the other drivers coming straight towards us several times. It was a bit edgy, but otherwise I made it! We live just a couple of blocks from our first of many pubs (probably have a sip tonight before we all crasy into bed!) We also found a nice little grocery store, and we are all in agreement that we will eat lightly so we can go to shows.
We did have a brief meeting this afternoon and saw all the undergraduates... very cute! Sherry and I agree that they look like our students! Many are truly only 18 or 19. We start the weekend by seeing little Shop Of Horrors tomorrow evening, included! So since I know the show so well now (for those of you who don't know, it was the musical last fall at Edison and I helped teach all the music)... we're going to go and just enjoy. Also planning on Wicked immediately, and maybe Don Giovanni this weekend. The flowers are in bloom and are LOVELY already. It sprinkled a couple times today, but it's not nearly as rainy as the weather channels predict when you look them up online. We've already found an abundance of shopping and neat little cafes, etc. We don't quite have the wireless in our flats figured out yet, but will soon. I will also forward a better phone number because we do have phones in the flats, and it will be much cheaper for all to use those. We cannot call out on them until we get phone cards.
Well, I hope to start adding pics tomorrow. I also hope I didn't bore any of you too much. It's incredible!Oh, one more thing! I have a new favorite candy they gave us at our orientation meeting. It's called Fox's Echo: Bubbly Mint Crisp! SO GOOD! Joe, I'll bring one home for you because it's like mint chocolate chip ice cream, but not ice cream.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb