Noticeable Trends


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Barnes
May 15th 2010
Published: May 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Short printed skirts with black tights and crazy driving.

I spent my first day out and about yesterday. I’m so glad I have this oyster card so I can just get on random buses and trains. I got on the train to Waterloo and then got off and voila, there was the London Eye and everything downtown. I took photos for about half an hour (typical tourist, I know) and made my way over by Parliament and Westminster Abbey, which is absolutely gorgeous. I wish I could have gone inside but there was a worship service going on at the time.

I feel pretty comfortable in the area I’m staying but once I got to the city centre I was more aware of my surroundings. I saw a boy get pickpocketed in front of my and I grabbed my bag and moved it in front of my chest.

After the Abbey I just walked, probably for a couple of miles around the Westminster and St. James area. Just got on some random buses and ended up in some random place, walked around, got on another bus and then saw a sign for the Underground (which the call the Tube) and figured out where I was and then found how to get back. It really wasn’t as hard as I had thought it would be.

I’m off to the Museum of Natural History and the Science Museum today so that should be fun. They have the only cross between an asian and an african elephant taxidermied there. I’ll have to post a picture of it in my next blog.

I’m still homesick, but I think the feeling will go away. Being able to call people on skype is extremely handy. And I think I figured out how to get video on my phone so I should be able to take videos now which is rather exciting.

I’m still bloody tired from yesterday and traveling, curse you jet lag!

I’m going to become a Brit someday, I just know it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.403s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1955s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb