A very challenging day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire
September 13th 2014
Published: September 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today I had a wonderful English breakfast made by Hamish, the son of the people who own the house. It consisted of two fried eggs from the hens they raise in the back yard, mushrooms and grilled tomatoes. After eating it, I wondered why grilled tomatoes never caught on in the US because they are delicious. I will be serving them at my house forever after, you can be sure.

After breakfast I ventured out in the car to the town of Burford. Charming. And spent way to much money and will have to buy a suitcase to pack in all my artifacts to make it home. It will be worth it. I bought a darling sugar and creamer from the early 20th century (I think it may be considerably older than that). A doiley with beads on it to cover jars and a new cutting board for my house. Like I said....i'm going to have to buy a new suitcase. I took a picture of a tributary from the Thames that flows through the town to post.

I then visited Stow-on-the-Wold. I didn't like it as much as Burford. Then went to Bibury, because all the guide books tell you too. Also not good. Much preferred Burford. I ran into a curb in Bibury.....very slightly and got a flat tire. I had to call roadside assistance and it took them 2 1/2 hours to get to my car. I couldn't help but hug the guy, jump up and down and scream for joy. He thought I was nuts until I tipped him 5 pounds and all was forgiven. Needless to say it was a harrowing day. Hamish and Daisy offered to come pick me up and texted to make sure I was ok. AirBandB is the way to go. You actually have someone who care if you drag your ass home each night.

Tonight I give my blessings to Hamish and his beautiful girlfriend, Daisy, to roadside assistance, and to the lady on the GPS who brought me safely home. I couldn't do this trip without her.

Tomorrow I'm taking a safer (and cheaper) route of walking some footpaths around the vicinity and justt taking it easy.

Love to all,

Lori

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb