Packing and planning my flight


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire » Stroud
June 20th 2017
Published: June 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Thought I'd write my first ever blog entry to get some practice. My flight leaves London Gatwick at 10am on Saturday 24th June. I am currently trying to work out what I need to take and what I actually have room for. This is quite tricky as I am flying to Delhi and then joining an organised tour with, I believe 9 other people catching a train north to Kalka at the start of the foothills where I transfer to a 'toy' train as they call them in India. This will take up to Shimla. This is a narrow gauge train taking some five hours. The 97km train trip passes through 103 tunnels, 18 stations and over 24 bridges. Fifty years in the making, this incredible feat of engineering was completed in 1897. Then after we arrive in Shimla the fun really starts as after an overnight stay we pick up our Royal Enfield Bullet motorcycles for a 2 week tour of the high Himalayas. Then, at the end of the trip I have a week in Leh, the capital town of the Ladakh region which is twice the size of Switzerland. Following a flight back to Delhi from Leh airport, one of the highest in the world, I have just under 4 days discovering Delhi and its surroundings before flying home.

I can't wait to go but the first problem I have is packing. I need to pack heavy motorcycle boots, armoured textile jacket and trousers, helmet and gloves as well as suitable clothing for temperatures ranging between 3 or 4 degrees and 35 degrees. In addition, someone mentioned to me a couple of days ago that since I am a more 'mature' single traveller, if I dress smartly when travelling then it's possible that I might get a free upgrade from cattle class to business or even first class. On Emirates that sounds very appealing. And I was going to wear my motorcycle boots to save space! :-/

Advertisement



22nd June 2017

Motorcycle Diaries
Have a brilliant time Kevin - the book group will be tracking your progress with some envy. How about using the motorcycle boots to "nudge" an undeserving suit out of first class? x
22nd June 2017

Motorcycle diaries
That's not a bad idea Ruth. I'm sure I deserve it far more that they do!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb