Under the Arches


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
December 12th 2012
Published: August 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

As you look out of the train windows, it looks to me like what I imagine the densely populated landscape of somewhere like Rio to look like- there are just masses of houses piled upon hills and upon each other. And because the landscape is not flat but undulates, the effect is that much more dramatic because the eye can take in more. Sometimes the early morning sun rises with the houses and it's really quite something to watch.

You then enter Brighton station. This is one of my favourite train stations (stay with me, this is going somewhere, promise...) It is, for some reason, romantic. In my mind it is from a time long ago, when getting on a train meant a long absence, and you really meant 'goodbye.' I see steam and bags of luggage, lovers embracing and hands waving... But then a voice above me brings me back to the present, announcing a departure to London Victoria or Ashford International. So I gather my attention back to now, and go under the arches into Brighton.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb