The latest


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton and Hove
August 30th 2011
Published: August 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Aiiieeeee it's been 4 months! Good thing writing this blog isn't my job; I would've fired myself ages ago.
Here is the news: the reason I am writing this now is that I've finished my dissertation 2 weeks before the deadline (shouts of applause) and am thus reduced to the tedium of applying for jobs and looking for a flat.
That's right! We're moving out - the landlady wants to sell, and we don't want to freeze in the next few months. Summer, however, has been most excellent: a brief retrospective at the calendar reveals that we have done a week's tango festivalling, Mon's been back to NZ, I have ridden the mighty CBR around France and Spain, and we've just been to Bruges - I am in fact writing this under the influence of Belgian chocolate, an experience I thoroughly recommend.
So! This gives us the following: Mon still has her job, I am finishing what has proven to be a very quick academic year, and we are looking to stay down here for the foreseeable future. Contingency is the name of the game at the moment: we can decide what to do next once I get a job, which will probably dictate where we live, which in turn means Mon will be able to look at concrete options for yoga and tango teacher training. Having had my go at learning, it's Mon's turn!
We continue to love living down here, and we'll be looking to move a bit closer to the station so that Mon can use the train to go to work; the mighty Primera is becoming too expensive to fix every time the MOT (British WOF) comes up. We're not going to replace it; we haven't done Britain in winter without a car, so we'll see how it works out.
I am looking for work at NGOs, mostly in London - there's an organisation called the Open Society Foundation that works to promote and increase democracy across the world, and I'm keeping an eye on the Amnesty International website, that sort of thing. There's not much work down here on the coast, so I'll probably commute to London in the short term.
To sum up, we're in state of flux, which is scary and exciting as always; we worked out that this is the longest that we've been in one place in our whole time together! What a couple of nomads!
Excuse the dry, fact-based blog - quite frankly, any distraction from doing 'useful' things is good. A blog about nice but pointless Bruges will follow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb