Long-Distance Loss


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Riding of Yorkshire » Hull
January 21st 2014
Published: January 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

In mid-February I lost my aunt very suddenly. I found out on Facebook, which is a god-awful way to get news like that. After I confirmed it with my parents, I looked around and realized that the house was empty and none of my friends were online. In the six months that I spent overseas, this was the only time that I felt lonely and heartsick. I texted Romain and asked if I could come over, and he said of course. I remember standing in front of his door a few minutes later, and when he opened it I started crying.

"My aunt died," I said, wiping at the tears. "I just didn't want to be alone."

He opened his arms and hugged me for a long time. I don't know if I ever really told him how much it helped to have someone simply hold me for a minute. Back home I would have buried myself in friends and grieving family members, but out there it was just me. I'm a very independent person, and in most cases I can make my own way, but I needed human connection right then and he was there for me. He made me tea and we talked for a long time, about my aunt and about lighter things like our friends. At some point the rest of his housemates drifted downstairs, and before I knew it I was surrounded with laughter and warmth.

So to Romain, Noopur, Jen, and Natalia: Thank you. Thank you so much for helping me heal during an awful time in my life when I felt completely alone. I love you all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb