End of the Road festival


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Shaftesbury
September 12th 2017
Published: September 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I31st August to 4th September
End of the Road festival is new to me though I've often been to Larmer Tree festival, which is held on the same site. I should know the site well, but it's a different layout which has confused me all weekend. More of the woods are available with different activities going on, and by wandering around I eventually found the cinema tent and the ship disco, and a secret site with John Horn from Incredible String Band singing with his daughter, who had a beautiful voice and is a whizz on the piano. A quick flurry of rain on Thursday showed the limitations of my makeshift awning, which became a water storage bag. Some adjustments helped and the relentless rain on Sunday didn't collapse it.
I was working a 5-hour a day shift in the camper van field at the back end of the site, where not a lot was happening, but manning a gate which nobody wanted to come through meant I read Saturday’s guardian undisturbed in the sun.
Lucinda Williams was great, I hadn't heard of her, but caught half a great set.
Sunday it rained all day. My shift from 6 to 11pm was collecting up all the marker posts for the camper van field after which the four of us who had worked hard, were allowed to help at the (undercover) exit and entrance to one of the music marquees (the Tipi). The four who had arrived late, and strolled the work, had to stay in the back-of-beyond field.
By this time I was soaked. My waterproof jacket, wasn't; and my fleece, my dress, top, leggings and hat, were all sodden. Wayer dropped off the rat's tails a that had been a hairstyle.There comes a point when one is so wet, one can't get wetter. A large clear plastic rubbish sack tucked under my bumbag kept my knickers wet, for which I was grateful. There's nothing worse than soggy knickers.
Monday, clear up day, was dry and quite sunny, though the previous day's rain saw a few people bogged down.
The food was great, a variety from round the world - I had Turkish, southern Indian and Tibetan food, and a bacon butty.
My last festival of the season, maybe one day I'll do Bestival, which is the following weekend. So many places to go, such short summers.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.396s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb