Dorset - RSPB Arne and a Forster's Tern


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Poole
August 6th 2023
Published: August 7th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Wooders Campsite, Bere RegisWooders Campsite, Bere RegisWooders Campsite, Bere Regis

I'd love to be around for the mini-muduc festival next weekend.
Last weekend I enjoyed a mini-break from my journey to France. Storm Antonio had cleared and Sunday was a lovely day for cycling around Poole Harbour.

I stayed at Woodlanders campsite near Bere Regis. Very friendly. On Saturday night it hosted a wedding, two hen nights and a stag night. It was lovely. Lovely, but not rowdy and very quiet after 11 or so.

I was persuaded to give the dry cider a go. I enjoyed it so much I had a second. I haven't drank cider since Spain years ago. I also enjoyed the skilfull and artful display by a fire artist (if that's a phrase). He did a lovely performance to Massive Attack.

On Sunday I did a circuit of the bay (except Wareham to Poole where I took the train). After the checking route to the ferry terminal I headed on round the bay via the chain ferry to Purbeck.

Being on a bike I got to skip the long queue of cars. On the far side I cycled past an area where there was a lot of fire damage evident. Very sad.

I soon discovered national cycle route 2 and it was going in the right direction to RSPB Arne. I got free entry RSPB Arne as I arrived by bike.

As luck would have it there was a very rare vagrant at the reserve. A Forster's Tern all the way from America. And it was visible. A couple of birders pointed it out to me. I think I'm turning into an accidental twitcher.

Now that the sun was out, there were plenty of butterflies sunning themselves and feeding.

I still can't believe how lucky I was to see the Forster's Tern. It really made the day's exploration worthwhile.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Forster's TermForster's Term
Forster's Term

Fith bird from the left
gatekeeper gatekeeper
gatekeeper

The vertical line of little white circles shows it's not a meadow brown.


Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb