Missing Out on a Beer in Beer


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Sidmouth
August 10th 2021
Published: August 17th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Ladram BayLadram BayLadram Bay

Sunrise behind the rock stacks of Ladram Bay.
I started the morning with another one of my sad, early photography outings. About three miles from Sidmouth, along the costal path, is Ladram Bay, apparently one of the jewels of the Jurassic Coast. Needless to say, I can't read something like that and let it pass.

Looking at my map that showed roads even more narrow and winding than those on the way to Wellington, I figured it would be just as easy to walk there as it would be to drive. A nice early morning stroll along the cliff tops. I was wrong. It was long, dark, steep and difficult to follow. I should have realised when part of it was clearly marked as "High Peak" on the map. The clue was in the name.

The photography in the bay was worth the walk and despite a holiday camp being nearby I had it all to myself. There are a couple of rock stacks in the bay that make it particularly dramatic and there are a lot of rock pools at one end of the bay that are very good for photography.

Whilst the walk there was not enjoyable, the walk back actually was. The hills
Coast Path ViewsCoast Path ViewsCoast Path Views

The walk back to Sidmouth was actually rather pleasant.
were the same but at least now I could see and enjoy the stunning scenery.

As usual, I was back in time for breakfast, but this time only just.

We started the morning with a walk around Sidmouth - mainly involving the shops. We then headed to a nearby village called Beer - I can't imagine why I wanted to go there. On the way, we diverted ourselves to a Donkey Sanctuary, where we somehow ended-up adopting a donkey. I was relieved to discover that we would not be taking it home with us thankfully.

I didn't have a beer in Beer and after a walk through the village and along the beach, we headed off to Lyme Regis. This is appears to be the main beach resort around here and was absolutely heaving.

Back in Sidmouth, our hotel-room had a balcony and a beach view, so it would have been a waste not to order some drinks from the bar and sit there to chill, read and watch all the people going past for a couple of hours. Come the evening, we tried to find somewhere to eat, but everywhere was fully booked. Luckily and
Sea ViewSea ViewSea View

Sidmouth Beach from our hotel room balcony.
despite also being fully booked, we found a pub that somehow had loads of empty tables


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hannah The DonkeyHannah The Donkey
Hannah The Donkey

Our adopted donkey at the Donkey Sanctuary.
BeerBeer
Beer

The name of the town.
A Beer in BeerA Beer in Beer
A Beer in Beer

Sadly I didn't.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb