Tintagel to Princetown


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Princetown
July 20th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 50.5441, -3.99043

We then headed along a different route back to Plymouth. Once again it started to get foggy, misty, and rainy. At times we couldn't see much past the edge of the roads, so it got monotonous fairly soon. I must have dozed on and off most of the trip back. I had just woken up from a snooze when we entered Dartmoor National Park about 2 p.m.. Everyone was excited about hoping to see the Dartmoor Ponies. I thought, what so exciting about seeing ponies. Apparently these small, tough ponies have lived on the moor since at least the 10th century. They are America's equivalent to mustangs, being that they are wild. We encountered a small group of 4 near the edge of the road. So, we pulled over and some of us got out in the rain and cold wind. Some of the people tried to get close to them, but the ponies shied away. However, a dam and its colt was near me, so I tried coaxing them closer for better pictures by talking to them. To my surprise the mare started walking to me! It got close enough that I was able to pat its head and nose. Then it backed off, but its colt wanted to know what mom was doing and did the same thing. When one of the others came closer to me, they backed off further into the field. That was so cool!!! Then everyone started back across the road. I was still taking pictures and was the last one to cross. Dave, the driver, and Dylan were watching the road for cars, when Dave called out, “It's watching you!” When I turned around, the mare was watching me cross to the road. Then the mare and its colt came across the road as I got to the bus. It was following me!!! I quickly got on the bus as it went onto a patch of grass next to the bus. That was exciting! We drove through a town called, Princetown, in a part of Cornwall that the Prince of Wales owns. In that town there is a church that was built by American prisoners of war that where held there during the War of 1812. On the way back to the hotel, Dylan passed out the trip's evaluation form. He also reminded us that if we wanted to ‘show our appreciation' to Dave the driver, it would best be done at Stonehenge and not at Marble Arch in London. He also said that he had enjoyed the trip very much since he loved that job that he has. He also stated the old adage: “You can please some of the people some of the time, but not please all of the people all of the time.“


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb