Beer, Rollercoasters, Fireworks and Beer


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Plymouth
August 25th 2006
Published: September 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After the hectic travelling I had been doing with Justin and Joel, coming to England was a little like coming home for a rest after the relaxing holiday. In essence it was, I was born in Plymouth and had lived there for a few years in my teens so I wasn't really interested in seeing the sights that London or Plymouth haad to offer, it was about seeing old friends and having fun/drinking alcoholic yeast water.

London
I arrived in London after flying via Frankfurt in a plane with propellers! When was the last time that anyone went on an international flight in a propeller driven plane. It was quite exciting though as they made an amazing noise when they were revving up, like a swarm of angry, mechanical bees. Also we weren't flying above the weather so there were a couple of moments of weightlessness which was quite excilerating. So anyway I arrived in London and met up with my good friend Tom. We went out for a couple of beers which soon (and inevitably) turned into a heavy mid-to-late afternoon drinking session. London is an extremely expensive city to live and drink in and it was lucky that
The BoysThe BoysThe Boys

Andy, Me, Ollie, Pete and John. Notice the sign in the top left corner.
Tom knew a way we could sneak into this massive hostel where they served one pound pints😊 Fun times were had by all.

As Tom had work the next day I decided to walk down towards Buckingham Palace where I sat in the park in the sun and did Sudoku. Afterwards I walked over to see Big Ben and the London Eye. This is actually quite impressive as it slowly turns, a massive white "eye" surrounded by all the history and ancient architecture of London. The next day I headed down to Plymouth where I would spend most of my time.

Plymouth
As I rode in on the bus it was kind of odd seeing the familiar sights of a city that I had left 3 & 1/2 years ago. It felt like an old "home" where you lived as a kid. After arriving I met one of my oldest friends, Peter. We went out the next night and I met up with some of my old friends from school, which was great, shenanigans were had😊

During my stay in Plymouth they were holding the annual British Fireworks Championship, I was pretty stoked at seeing this as every other time they were staged when I lived there I was away, either in Wales or Borneo. They were also trying to break the world record for most fireworks set up at once, they were sending up approximately 50 000 rockets within 5 seconds. It was going to be good. We went down to the Hoe, which was packed with people, and got a good seat to see the action. Unfortunately we were looking at the wrong place. So suddenly there is this flash of light and that whomp that a huge explosion makes, all cleverly concealled by the perfectly placed Smeaton's Tower. So all we saw was a flash of light instead of 55 000 rockets going into the air at the same time. Bugger. So we moved and watched the rest of the show. It was quite amazing and I'm not going to try and describe them, everyone knows what fireworks look like. I was very impressed.

Alton Towers
The following w/e was the much anticipated trip to Alton Towers. After getting a lift up there, we had no accomodation and all the boys, save Ollie, refused to pay 15 quid to sleep in the hostel.
The FieldThe FieldThe Field

John, Andy and Pete in the field which we called home for one night. Don't they look snug.
The plan was to sleep in the field and get to Alton Towers early to beat the queues. Since is was about 2 in the arvo and we had about 8 hours to kill we did the only logical thing and went to the pub. What followed was an excellent few hours, the "wet hands" incident will stay with me for decades to come. (I apologise for not explaining it as it would take to long and you really had to be there. I include it only for my own amusment.) We ended up the night in the local club and then got a taxi back to our field. After mucking around wrestling and fighting we settled in for a cold and wet night. Yes it did rain a little, luckily I had a sleeping bag from somewhere.

Alton Towers is amazing we were there as planned in the morning, amazing I know. We went on Nemesis, Air, Oblivion, Corkscrew, Ripsaw, Og Swinger, Spinball Whizzer, the Haunted House and the Flume. It was awesome and I finally achieved a life long dream of going on the front of Nemesis, which is very, very cool. Air, which, when you sit down tips you forward to face the ground was the scene of an unfortunate accident for Peter, for the rest of us it was hilarious. Just as the ride tipped back up at the end was when he decided he had to throw up, right in his crotch. HAHAHAHA, it looked exactly like he had pissed himself, I got an awesome photo of it. All in all it was a great day and everyone had a great time.

I also spent one w/e down in Cornwall at the Evans family cottage. Cornwall is great when the weather is fine and it is warm. We went to a few good beaches and just generally had a good time. I had 3 cornish pasties while I was there and they were astonishingly good, I am salivating at the mere thought of them. If you ever go to Cornwall get an authentic Cornish Pasty, it is an experience you will not forget, for the real experience sit in an old harbour and watch the tourists and the seagulls😊

Apart from that England was just me living my life and there were no exciting travel tales from far off wounderous lands, just
Ollie, Me and PeterOllie, Me and PeterOllie, Me and Peter

And yes it is supposed to be blurred, I am an award winning photographer.
England which can sometimes be slightly damp😊

On a last note I apologise for the delay in getting this posted as I am in Canada at the moment trying to organise my life for the next 8 months. But more on that next time, if I ever get around to it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Peter and his ShamePeter and his Shame
Peter and his Shame

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Rain GodRain God
Rain God

Who knew Tom could control the weather
Sweaton's TowerSweaton's Tower
Sweaton's Tower

This tower is excellent at hiding fireworks explosions


6th September 2006

Yeast water? Mere water? More like fluid of the gods!
Choice blog dan, it was like a normal travel journal combined with a Sashi-blog. I knew you how incredibly excited you were to meet up with your friends, but it seems like the times you had far exceeded your excitement.
6th September 2006

WOW
hey daniel, im soooooo jelous of you!! i hell wanna go to alton towers again ey, i havnt been in ages, and im old enough to go on all those rides now:D, hehe, man, im missing you heaps ey, i have schhols cup tomorrow(like interschool but jsut volleyball) but i have to be at school for 6:50am*YAAWN* and then we get back to school 4:00pm then i have dance after school!!im gonna be hell tired!!hehe anywayz, luv you lots and missing you, we all are luv from all the way down under in aussie your littlest sister NAOMI:D
8th September 2006

good to see u having a great time back "home" ;).....ps. i thought tom only had control over gays?
9th September 2006

peter pissing himself..
.. absolute gold. that is all. and WHAT is this sashi-blog deal, i report facts and figures dammit.. im a SERIOUS writer.
23rd April 2009

england
nice photos. i love england(but not the weather)

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb