A Stand-off With a Particularly Stubborn Cow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Dartmoor
October 10th 2021
Published: October 13th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Combestone TorCombestone TorCombestone Tor

A much anticipated sunrise at Combestone Tor.
The workshop was over, so the early start today was self-inflicted. I got up at the usual 6.30am and headed off to Combestone Tor, to try for what would effectively be fourth time lucky.

As I drive into the car park with my headlights on full-beam, it lit up the tor against the night sky. That actually made a great photo, although I needed to set-up to the side so that my shadow was not cast onto the rocks - schoolboy error.

As the light came, it was looking like I would be disappointed yet again, but after about half an hour it became evident that going to be lucky and it was a perfect sunrise. I was really, really pleased that I had made the effort - much like when I went out on my own in Rannoch Moor (see blog=1046619]).

There were a few other photographers there, but none from our group. I tried not to be too smug when I met them at breakfast later. This time I went for the full Dartmoor breakfast, just minus the black pudding.

After breakfast and checking-out of the hotel, I drove to the nearby town of Princetown.
Hawthorne TreeHawthorne TreeHawthorne Tree

A windswept tree near Combestone Tor.
This is the location of the ominous high-security Dartmoor Prison. I'm really not sure itsresidents appreciate the "Welcome to HM Prison Dartmoor" sign outside. Just one step off from a "We hope you enjoyed your stay" sign, which admittedly I didn't see.

There was obviously some sort of cycling event on as there were cyclists everywhere, which needed to be negotiated along with all the various animals on the roads. The animals included one particular cow who just stood there eyeballing me with no intention of moving.

There were also some extremely narrow bridges to deal with - with one being tight enough when I was driving forward, yet alone when I needed to reverse as I came up to a row of cars coming the other way.

I filled up with petrol, given that there is a fuel crisis at the moment and, according to the news, there is actually some petrol in the South West. There were no queues at all.

I went me A303/M3 route again, although I regretted it when I got towards Stonehenge, as the queues there were horrific. They cleared once we actually past Stonehenge, so the queues were clearly
Combestone Tor in Full BeamCombestone Tor in Full BeamCombestone Tor in Full Beam

Lit by the headlights from my car.
due to everyone having a look.

I stopped regretting going that way when I got to the M25 and saw the signs indicating another weekend of closures on the M4 - between junctions 3 and 4 and between 13 and 14.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Dartmoor BreakfastDartmoor Breakfast
Dartmoor Breakfast

Minus the black pudding obviously.
Dartmoor PrisonDartmoor Prison
Dartmoor Prison

Welcome to HM Prison Dartmoor.
Princetown CyclingPrincetown Cycling
Princetown Cycling

They are going to have to face all the animals also.
CowCow
Cow

I'm not moving!
Dartmoor ForestDartmoor Forest
Dartmoor Forest

A short stop before leaving Dartmoor.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb