Day 4 - Tavistock To Crediton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Crediton
April 24th 2014
Published: April 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Dartmoor it was today and the start was slow as the beers and curry combined from the night before - and as soon as I left Tavistock there was a big hill to take me up to the moor.



My Grandad was tall and bald and wore a brown jacket

And in the corner of the never used room stood a brown fishing rod

Forever

In the big silent bed, On a sunny, Devon morning

He would tell tales of wild ponies. prisons and green sinking mud.

Waiting on the moors with black eyes.

But I made it through.



A few tame sheep on the moors with very white wool and blackheads some would stare at me for a while - they all had an accompanying lamb that would not leave their side. One couple got parted and they kept bleating until they met up again. My route took me through some very offbeat roads today and then all of a sudden I was only a few miles from Crediton - this was where my Dad grew up and I came down here a few times when I was 4-10 - so it brings back many memories. After I found my B&B which on the outside looked a little run down, the room itself was perfect. About 7pm I went out for a wander round Crediton to see what had changed. I did come here a couple of years ago but in tonights fading light it looked a little jaded -still I suppose that happens. Anyway my walk took me down past my dads old house - which whilst familiar has been updated and I didn't like to hang around too long - it looks a bit strange staring at a now strangers house !!! then back down the high street past his school then into the fish and chip shop for tea and sat overlooking the park eating my tea. Home early and fell asleep to the news.



Miles done today about 35 - total so far 148 miles.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb