The UK Lake District


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Lake District
September 25th 2004
Published: April 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

English GreeneryEnglish GreeneryEnglish Greenery

Leaving the village of Dent.
This morning I was awoken by a loud ray of bright sunshine glaring right thru my window. Someone forgot to close the curtains. Ah well, I was to be blessed with 2 days of sunshine in a row! From the Yorkshire Dales to the Lake District is but a mere hop skip & a jump! After another full English breakfast ( I love black pudding. Don’t wanna know how it’s made) I set off heading northwest.

I arrived in the Lake District via the town of Windermere. As the forecast for the next day called for rain, I figured I’d better ride the famous Wrynose & Hardknott Passes today. The Lake District is arguably even more beautiful than the Yorkshire Dales & the four wheeled traffic attests to that! It kinda reminded me of western North Carolina (kinda sorta). However, the traffic thinned out as I moved west towards the passes.

After negotiating the Hardknott & Whynot…erm…I mean Wrynose, I made my way back to Windermere via the ferry across Lake Windermere. I headed to Keswick where I would meet my friends and stay a couple of days enjoying the Lake District.

I must have counted a billion
Lost AgainLost AgainLost Again

Stopping to get my bearings in the village of Ulpha.
sheep. Unfortunately, time was running out & I had to slab it back to Nottingham in time to catch my plane. I hope to make it back soon! Over 5 days, I covered about 1050 miles with no police sightings. All in all, it was a great trip despite a couple days of rain.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Lake District SceneryLake District Scenery
Lake District Scenery

Stone bridge in the Lake District
Hardknott PassHardknott Pass
Hardknott Pass

The approach to the Hardknott Pass from the west.
The SummitThe Summit
The Summit

Over the top of the Hardknott and looking down the other side to the east.
FerryFerry
Ferry

The ferry across Lake Windermere.
Beautiful Lake DistrictBeautiful Lake District
Beautiful Lake District

Beautiful Lake Country.
On The Way HomeOn The Way Home
On The Way Home

Another view of Lake Ullswater.


Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb