Gorgeous (and wet) Cumbria


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Ambleside
October 4th 2018
Published: October 5th 2018
Edit Blog Post

England’s Lake District in Cumbria is the stuff of legend: Wordsworth was inspired to write the arguably most famous poem in the English language after strolling the hills of daffodils, and Beatrix Potter painted and wrote of its flora and fauna. We had great plans to explore the hills and vales ourselves, but got rained out. No matter, we’ve had great fun, and a fabulous townhouse in Kendal as our Cumbrian home.

The best of our photos came from the (driest) afternoon of our arrival, but they truly don’t do the countryside justice. We were oohing and aahing at every turn, and it was hard to keep one‘s eyes on the road. Our progress into the heart of the district was slow, as we constantly pulled over to photograph and take it all in. Cumbria has made me fall in love with England all over again, and I predict a return visit....

The little towns and villages are storybook charming, perched as they are along the shores of the long, lovely lakes. We probably enjoyed Windermere the most, not the least because we discovered a fabulous Italian cafe and staff, including cute twin waiters who flirted just like, well,
Lake District, CumbriaLake District, CumbriaLake District, Cumbria

Contented residents
Italians. It didn’t hurt that the custom-baked Lasagne Bolonese was about the best I’ve ever tasted - so good, in fact that I ordered an additional portion to take home for supper. It was a two-lasagne kind of day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



5th October 2018

Why do I read your blog when I'm hungry? When there's nothing in the house to eat? Damn, girl! That lasagna looks amazing! Too bad about the rain. I hope it comes and goes like here in Portland. It's actually only just starting to rain today. It's been nice low temperatures high 60s low 70s. So I assumed I didn't really have to water... I was wrong. Poor droopy plants. So glad you're loving your Journeys. Thanks for sharing. I'm very good at pretending I'm there.
14th January 2021

The beauty of the Lake District
Good little blog. You've got some great photos of Cumbria and I remember on our first visit to the Lakes, we were constantly parking up to get more photos. So this made me smile when read it through. Can't wait to get back and looks like you had a great time whilst you was there. Really does make you love England and all that is in it for sure. A special place to visit.

Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb