BOB


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall » St Ives
May 20th 2013
Published: May 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

IMG_00000145IMG_00000145IMG_00000145

Mayflower Arch - the window to the new world
Today was another great day; I can't believe it but it hasn't rained yet, in fact the sun has been out quite a bit.

This morning the tour started at the Mayflower steps; it's kind of cool when I think about when Holly D and I saw Plymouth Rock a few years ago on our Boston/Cape Cod trip and now I have seen where the pilgrims set sail from. It's like completing the circle. From here we went on a boat ride, saw several Royal naval ships and heard some stories on the history of the port.

The highlight of today was St Ives; I didn't meet the man with seven wives but I did get really close with a gull. I decided to sit on the edge of the port and try a Cornish pastie, it's like a handheld meatpie, anyways as I was filling my face thinking I should have ordered a smaller one and how annoying it was to eat with a seagull staring at me, the gull decided to leave and take or as they would say here, he pinched my pasties. That's right he flew right at me and grabbed the pastie out of
IMG_00000147IMG_00000147IMG_00000147

The steps where the Mayflower left from, Plymouth
my hand. He was very gentle, no harm done, in fact he saved me room for some scones, clotted cream and tea. All was good.

This evening we took a scenic drive across the mysterious moors where we picked up a storyteller in Princetown, home of an infamous prison. The storyteller told us tales and ghost stories that have been passed down from generation to generation including stories about the Baskerville hounds and pixies. He continued as we made our way to a lovely old inn for a drink and a home cooked meal.

One can't talk about the moors without mentioning the cattle, sheep and ponies that roam them and the landscape with the granite rocks jutting out here and there. Travelling across the moors on the way back from Dartmoor was the perfect end to the day, until tomorrow......


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

IMG_00000155IMG_00000155
IMG_00000155

St Ives - home of the cheeky gull


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb