Brighton to Falmouth


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall » Falmouth
June 16th 2013
Published: June 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Left Brighton on 16th June 2013 at 5pm, we had good weather and winds eventually (in the right direction !).We spent a few hours bobbing along the coast at Brighton watching the London to Brighton bike ride before the wind picked up. It was Sam's first time night sailing and she did amazingly well, once she stopped taking the sea sickness tablets and woke up ! Andy

I used both seabands for my wrists and anti-sickness meds which turned me into zombie that feels sick 24/7. Despite this I didn't throw up which is a miracle and an answer to prayer. I had the appetite of a Vegetarian Zombie so ate more than Andy on the first night. The sea was calm so the first night was really pleasant, despite the rain I had prepared to sleep on deck to alleviate nausea. With wet weather gear, home knits and a cat grafted to my chest I could not fit into the sleeping bag so chanced sleeping on my bed. On drugs my bed was comfy and even the rolling around like a marble on a tray did not disturb the sleep of the undead. The weather was better in the evenings and the wind picked up so we sped along smoothly and the cats both came out to play or at least join me trying to walk around the cabin whilst I prepared food. Night sailing was bewildering, seeing large vessels illuminated way too near for comfort which is why the less sleepy 'wired on caffeine' husband 'Salty Seadog Chowns' was the best person to helm in these conditions and I succumbed to a coma for 4 hours with the odd waking panic we might be attached to the 'pointy end' of a ferry to France. Andy was driven by sheer grit, tar and determination and only allowed himself to have 2 hours sleep in 2 days. The last day I refused to take anymore pills as I really was fighting to keep my eyes open, I felt completely better so will be doing the rest of the voyage anti-sickness pill free. Sam



Arrived at Falmouth midday on Tuesday 18th June and surprisingly managed to get a berth at Falmouth Marina. Have done weather checks for the Bay of Biscay and there is a large storm coming in this Saturday and Sunday so we will probably leave here Monday, bound for Northern Spain. Falmouth is beautiful and the view we wake up to is stunning. There are definitely worse places to be. Andy


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb