From here...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Peterborough
January 13th 2009
Published: January 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Zavvy Card!The Zavvy Card!The Zavvy Card!

Here it is somewhere in a pub in deepest darkest Peterborough being sent on it's way...
So I'm cheating - I haven't left the country yet, but as I've left both jobs and am in the process of wrapping things up here, I thought I'd put my first entry on - more of a "this is what I'm leaving behind". My last day at work was strange - hadn't sunk in yet what I'm about to do but everyone was great - even people who I'd never spoken to in 6 years were wishing me well! I got loads of goodbye presents from my team - all really useful for the year ahead - but amazingly I didn't cry! (It was close a couple of times) - the two to set me off were Gail and Sarah - both renowned for it and in tradition, they roared but on the whole, it was a good day.

Now I'm in the no-man's land that is the fortnight before the flight. The big stuff has been covered - house rented, removals booked, finances in place, property manager all set (thanks so much Haze!) so now it's just tying up the little bits and then the fun job of packing.... luckily, Paul is here and mentally psyching himself up ready for when the fun begins - and mum has said she's on standby for the last weekend here - available for packing, cleaning and taxi service - she's fab!

I can only imagine what it'll be like when we land in Auckland. We fly on Thursday 29th Jan at 11.15 from Heathrow, and land at 5.25am on Saurday in Auckland (taking into account flight times, 5 hour stop in LA and then 13 hour time difference in NZ). Either way, I think I'll be like the living dead when we get there.... but roll on 2 weeks and 2 days!

OK, there's been a slight change of plan owing to a cock-up made by the girl who booked Paul's ticket - I wont bore you with the ins and outs but basically, we're now flying to LA on Thurs, 29th Jan and staying there until Feb 9th before flying on to NZ - I'm treating it as a mini holiday before the big trip. Paul has been looking at Campervans recently - I like the idea of getting an old converted ambulance (there's a surprising number of those about) and then spraying it pink - but I don't think I'll be allowed somehow...if anyone has got any good names for our home for the next 6 months, let me know - got to be something quirky like Matilda or Delores (after Umbridge). I've ordered bmy travel sack today (better than a ruck sack apparently) so am starting to get really excited!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The CathedralThe Cathedral
The Cathedral

See, there are one or two nice buildings in Peterborough...


30th January 2009

Bon voyage
GOOD LUCK ON YOUR TRAVELS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb