Timetravel to medieval England or visiting Ely


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Ely
October 5th 2015
Published: October 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The most memorable part of my visit to Cambridge was a short stay in the city of Ely – the loveliest place I have ever been at.

Unlike other diminutive English towns that we had passed by, Ely seemed very strange. A gigantic cathedral, which towered over everything around, struck our eyes as we approached the city by train. Because of its enormous size, it looked fabulous against the backdrop of two-story brick houses. That magnificent building was Ely Cathedral. And yet it was closed for some reason, I could enjoy its external beauty forever.

Near the cathedral there was a local fair where people sold all kinds of handmade things (shawls, paintings, carvings, etc.). There I tried one of the tastiest homemade pies in my life, and it was so palatable that I bought two.

Despite the smallness of Ely, its streets were full of people. Market Street was particularly crowded. Having plenty of time I decided to enter some shops, where I didn’t find anything astounding but different T-shirts with attributes of Ely.

Next stop was an enigmatic Oliver Cromwell's House. That ordinary at first glance building was claimed to be haunted. The tour around the mansion was atmospheric and actually a bit spooky, yet I didn’t notice anything weird.

Wandering around the town I came by a calm place – a vast park area imbued with narrow pathways. Gothic architecture of Ely was visible from that location, and for a minute I found myself in medieval remote English town.



A day in Ely brought me unforgettable feelings. It was a place that I didn’t want to leave.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb