Preparations for Nigeria


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Slough
February 11th 2011
Published: February 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Richard the ManikinRichard the ManikinRichard the Manikin

looking cool and funky in his new clothes - ready to head to Nigeria
“Nigeria? Isn’t that like really unsafe like do you know what I mean like?” said my taxi driver as he brought me back from Dr Cheese’s office after I had had more vaccines and collected my Malarone malaria pills, “I will be ok” I replied “ I grew up in Slough”

On the plus side I am with Jane (one of my bosses) and she knows the Nigeria site so I won’t be on my own.

I am not leaving until the 13th March 2011 but there are many things I need to do to ensure that I will be ready when I get out there, I will be attending a First aid Train the Trainer course the week beforehand to enable me to be able to teach others in first aid, without this I am not allowed to train first aid, I am really looking forward to taking part in this.

A resuscitation dummy has been purchased which we have named Richard. He has been prodded and poked by members of my team, inspected by passersby and dressed up now by me – my only worry is taking something that looks like a half dead body through customs but with previous experience of Africa’s customs they probably won’t notice him, he will go in a suitcase with dressings, bandages, gloves and mouthguards – everything I shall need to train the first aiders.

To keep you going until I am Nigeria Bound

Lisa


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb