Open the Eyes of My Heart, Lord


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bedfordshire » Luton
February 15th 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm spending the night at Deanna's house tonight. All her housemates have left to go on various trips for the half term break, so she has invited over the young adult group from her church. They always have a prayer session on Sunday nights.

And, oh, she cooked!! Banana bread, magic bars (which are like six layer bars), and pizza. I totally make a pig of myself.

Deanna's friend, Igi, who is from Slovakia, brought his guitar, and he plays and sings for a while. It's such good American-style fun; it makes me miss home.

Eventually, the prayer session begins. I haven't been to a Catholic prayer session in probably two years. Not since I was married.

I take a song sheet from Igi and notice that they're all praise and worship songs. Taking a seat in the circle of chairs, I smile, I know these songs. I like these songs.

People glance at me with uncertainty. They don't know me, don't know my background, have no idea what my religious beliefs are or used to be. They're trying to be welcoming, and they're a bit nervous about what I'll think of them and their worship. They don't realize that I'm one of them.

Igi strums his guitar and slowly, we begin singing Open the Eyes of My Heart, Lord, a song I have on tape somewhere in Tennessee. I don't need the song sheet. I close my eyes, swaying, singing, feeling God open the eyes of my heart.

We sing Here I Am To Worship, one of my all-time favorites, then we sit in silence for a few minutes. I relish the meditation time, breathing deeply.

"Lord God," Igi begins. "We want to thank you for this day and this time you've given us to come together and worship you. We love you, Lord. You are worthy of all our praise."

"Amen," I whisper, softly smiling.

He goes on to pray some more, then opens the floor to anyone else who wants to add a prayer intention. People pray for loved ones, for specific problems in their own lives, etc. Then one guy says, "I'd like to pray for Catholic conversions, that more people will convert to Catholicism and join the Church."

My eyes pop open. Seriously? Of all the things someone can pray for in the world, that's what he choses? I stare at him with disbelief, before I finally close my eyes again, trying to shake off my irritation.

Another girl speaks, "I'd like to pray for more Catholic vocations, that more people will be called to the priesthood or sisterhood."

Again, my eyes open and my jaw drops. I can't believe these people aren't praying for world peace or for people in poverty or for more love to fill the Earth. I stare at them, trying to figure them out.

I view the Catholic Church as one of many ways to get closer to God; they see it as the only way. So what they're actually praying for is for more people to know God, to know love. They don't mean to be egocentric. They're trying to help.

Thank you, God, for opening my heart to them.

Advertisement



20th February 2010

Ways to get closer to God
If we desire getting closer to God... we need understanding definition of God! The meaning of God... definition of God is best explained in Bhagavad Gita http://www.godrealized.com/bhagvadgita.html of Hinduism... the most sacred scripture existing on mother earth! As detailed in Bhagavad Gita god almighty is not form of human beings. The sum total of all purified soul atmans in cosmos at a given moment of time is what we know as God Almighty! This enormous cluster of cosmic primordial power much beyond comprehension of all human beings is Nirakaar in form (having no form)! God Almighty is not form of human beings. God Almighty always acts as a Dhrishta (onlooker) never interfering with creation of his! God Almighty exists in all human beings in miniscule form as our soul atman... the spirit within! Getting closer to God http://www.godrealized.com/god/Ways-to-Get-Closer-to-God.html simply means merging our inner self with larger whole... God Almighty himself! When human beings gained enlightenment (kaivalya jnana)... it announced end of cosmic life for soul atman... the spirit within! Reaching 8.4 millionth manifestation... the last in cosmic life cycle is goal of every soul atman... the spirit within! For human beings to gain enlightenment... assimilating wisdom contained in Bhagavad Gita is foremost necessity! Only by knowing Bhagavad Gita of Hinduism human beings gained enlightenment (reached stage of kaivalya jnana)... never otherwise! The contents of Bhagavad Gita can never be understood literally. All 700 shlokas verses contained in Bhagavad Gita suffice for mankind reaching stage of enlightenment... and finally salvation (moksha)! The knower of Bhagavad Gita finally becomes knower of all... gains omniscience for all practical purposes! Enlightenment is reached via path of spirituality... never religion! Understanding difference between religion and spirituality is foremost necessity of the day! Most human beings on mother earth confuse spirituality with religion! God Almighty can never be reached via path of bhakti yoga... path of rituals... path of religion! For getting closer to God... for become one with God one needs traveling path of jnana yoga (absolute wisdom)!

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0953s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb