Miracle In My Pocket


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bedfordshire » Luton
December 19th 2008
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I emailed the airlines last night to see if I could change my ticket so I can fly home sooner. I haven't heard back from them, so I call.

No answer. I leave a message on the machine.

Slipping my cell phone into my pocket, I take a deep breath, trying to clear my mind. Stay calm, Alicia. Stop stressing about this. It's in God's hands. BUT I HAVE TO GO HOME!! You'll get there. Stop worrying and enjoy the day.

I spend the next hours trying to stay focused on the world around me, taking deep breaths, striving to stay in the present moment. One thing is for sure: for the past few months, God has been giving me lessons in surrender. I have a hard time letting go.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The students and faculty are divided into four houses--Enterprise, Integrity, Success, and Excellence. We're having house assemblies this morning, and each house will be dismissed from the school grounds after their assembly is over. I'm in Success House, and our assembly is at 11:30. I decide to enjoy the assembly. I'm not worrying any more about my flight. There's nothing I can do but wait. Peace grows within me.

Mid-way through the assembly, my pocket vibrates. It's the airline! I rush out of the Hall and hastily answer my phone, barely breathing.

I can't believe it. Someone cancelled their flight on Sunday, so they have a seat available for me for 190 pounds.

I'll take it.

With my back against the wall, I lift my chin and close my eyes and offer a thousand prayers of thanksgiving.

I'm going home in two days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb