I Don't Want To Go To Work


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bedfordshire » Luton
September 29th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

All I know is that this morning, I didn't want to go to work.

I hate this job.

I called the agency today and told them I'm not sure this is working out. They told me to speak with the assistant principal. So I sat down with him and began spilling out my frustrations.

I don't have any keys, and all the freakin' doors are locked in this damn school. (The outside doors are open, but the inside doors are all locked, which makes no sense to me. Stangers could walk in off the street, but I can't even go to the bathroom.)

I can't get my own science materials, I have to go through a technician who needs like a week's notice for anything. I don't have any office supplies. I have to ask the technician, and he keeps tabs on who he's given things to, like, "What happened to the pen I gave you last week?"

I can't make copies of anything! There's a secret code for the science department to punch into the copier, and only two people are allowed to know it. (Because each department is allowed to make only a certain number of copies per school year or they get charged.)

I don't have a computer login. I filled out the paperwork for it over a week ago, and I still don't have it! I can't take attendance, which they call the "register." I can't show powerpoints. I can't show any cool science websites, videos, anything! I can't get on the damn computer at all!

We have staff meetings, and I have no idea what's going on. I don't know who is who or where they're classroom is, so when they say shit like, "I need all the CPD preference forms in by the end of the day! Thanks!" I'm like, Who are you and what the hell is CPD and where do I turn in that form? Basically, the entire meeting goes over my head. Everyday.

These kids are terrible. I don't know what to do. I've never seen anything like it, except maybe at Smyrna Middle. They cuss, they're violent with each other, they're messy, they ignore the teacher. I'm up there teaching, and I'm basically like the background music you hear in a restaurant, but you ignore it because you have better things to think about. That's how the kids are. It doesn't matter if I suddenly yell, clap, make any kind of noise to jog their attention. They won't look at me; they will continue with their conversations. I bet I could do a strip tease, and they wouldn't even notice.

I tell them to do something, and they just won't. Or they'll say, "No, I'm not going to do that." And everyone else looks at me and laughs, like they know I can't do anything about it.

Andy said he'd follow up on the login and keys. Some of that stuff can't be changed, and I know that. I just wanted him to know my frustrations. I hope he sends me some back up during class or something.

But I don't want to leave, because the pay is really good at this school. I can use the money to go to London and travel around, and I'm actually very happy in the London area in spite of my troubles at work.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb