A place of beauty - Luzern


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lausanne
August 15th 2013
Published: August 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Despite being exhausted and at least 2 inches shorter due to wear and tear from walking so much, I felt I had one last trip in me… one more train journey. So I headed out to Luzern, only 40 minutes from Zurich but a world away as far as atmosphere and beauty go. The train station has to have the best view on exit of anywhere I have been (including Venice) as you have a fabulous arch and then the lake in all its glory. There are numerous boats plying for the trade of tourists and I chose a sleek sightseeing yacht which had a huge deck with white leather seats and lots of room to move around to see from all angles. The trip lasted an hour and was great value given that is went a long way and was absolutely fabulous for the lovely views of the changing coastline and the clear water. I found a secluded house high up on a hill with great views over the water, that’s a place for a summer house if there ever was one. The walk around the old town of Luzern was one of the most pleasant I’ve had even though it was hot. There were so many buildings with beautiful decoration on them and of course numerous bridges crossing the river, the most famous being the covered wooden bridge which is decorated by beautiful red flowers all the way along. Strolling up through the higher streets I got accosted by a man who claimed to be a fortune teller and told me I was lucky…. When I ignored him he said there was one man who was angry with me… yeh that’ll probably be you mate when I don’t bite and pay up for your ‘service’. By the time I had seen most of the old town it was time to head back to Zurich… a really lovely place for a day visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb