A Day on Lake Geneva - Lausanne


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lausanne
August 25th 2008
Published: August 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The NonViolence RevolverThe NonViolence RevolverThe NonViolence Revolver

I am now on a quest to see THEM ALL!
For what I imagine is my final day trip this summer, my friend Cassie and I drove down to Lausanne, the International Olympic Headquarters. We spent the afternoon lying in the sun on Lake Geneva. We then went over to the Olympic Museum and I found yet another Nonviolence Revolver! Turns out that this is a replica (the originals at the UN, Malmo which I saw this summer, and Luxemborg which I plan on seeing on of these days) ... I think I am obsessed with this sculpture. The architect began sketching it after the death of John Lennon, which so affected him that he felt as if he needed to express his despair. Although the one in Lausanne is evidently one of 8 or so replicas, it was still pretty amazing to stumble upon another one without knowing it! We proceeded up to the pier and found an amazing sculpture that resembled a cleever! Turns out it is actually a huge weather vane that looks like a cheese knife! Two more days left. Testing today and then tomorrow will be a bit of fun with our classes. All of the winter boarding students are arriving so it is getting a bit crazy around here. It's just incredible how quickly the summer passed!



Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb